Weekly Photo Challenge: Ambience…Mist and mystery

Posted: January 13, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Time to take a quick break from making granola to check for the Weekly Photo Challenge prompt…and it isn’t there.  Okay then.  Back to tea and granola and periodic checking.

Okay, it’s up, but not in the regular spot and no pingbacks right now.  But I’ll forge ahead.  “Ambience” always makes me laugh because one day I used the word while teaching a high school Bible study.  When I asked if everyone knew what it meant, one boy blurted out, “The store for lovers.”  In that area, there was an “adult” store selling sexy lingerie and so on, named Ambiance with the tagline, “The Store For Lovers”.  Now I smile inside if not out every time I hear it.

Ambience, or ambiance, is the special atmosphere or mood of a particular environment, the mood, character, quality, tone, atmosphere, etc.  I think this shot captures the ambience of being out on a beautifully foggy day, wrapped in mist and mystery.

© janet m. webb 2012

Comments
  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love foggy days – this is beautiful.

  2. Moody ambience. Love it!!

  3. eerie… I love how the fog always gives a gloomy peace to things…

  4. Sue says:

    Beautifully, eerily, ambiently moody, Janet!

  5. I love that tree! It looks great in the fog.

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful Janet. 😀

  7. Joe Owens says:

    Ohhh Janet I am too trained to photo flash stories and can quickly see a story forming with this backdrop. I like it so much and would love to be there in the moment. Thanks for sharing this.

  8. solaner says:

    fantastic image, Janet. very moody and a lot of a very special ambience. I love it. I also considered a foggy image first.

  9. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Beautiful!

  10. Great capture! I have been trying to shoot misty mornings for month, but I have just never made it. Thanks for sharing.

  11. robert20359 says:

    hi janet, wonderful and interesting Picture.

  12. Indira says:

    Superb. Loved your take. Best wishes for 2017.

  13. Sandra says:

    Very atmospheric, Janet. Have a nice weekend.

  14. Ambience that Mother Nature and I would both give you an A+ on. Beautiful shot, Janet. Perfect for the challenge. 🙂

  15. Great shot J. But can you send me the address of that store please?! MB

  16. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Ambience…Mist and mystery […]

  17. Paula says:

    There is a lot of moodiness in this photo. Nicely done, Janet!

  18. Beautiful photo–listen to the quiet!

  19. bythebriny says:

    Ambience in spades!

  20. I love a good foggy day and this one is no exception, Janet. The sun in the branches and the receding line of trees really make this photo work.
    Ω

  21. thirdeyemom says:

    A beautiful photo for the challenge Janet!

  22. Anita says:

    Such a moody picture, Janet. Perfect for quiet, contemplative walks!

  23. joey says:

    Cute story! Ours here is called Priscilla’s. Well, it may be something else now…The Mister says it’s Cirilla’s and I recall he’s right. Still “The Store for Lovers.”
    The fog photo is beautiful. I love it. Great ambience. It was plenty gray and foggy here this week, too. One day, I think Wednesday, I went out dressed head-to-toe in gray, looked at the sky, and said, “You too, huh?”
    🙂

    • I like black, so I don’t think that about the sky too often…except at night. 🙂 I wish I could wear yellow and then go out and talk to the sun, but yellow doesn’t look good on me.

      Sleep well.

      janet

  24. Lena says:

    Love this image Janet, it is so moody!

  25. KG says:

    Such a beautiful view! 🙂

  26. Celebes says:

    Misterious and beautiful

  27. breathtaking, spell binding, intriguing, captivating, enduring.
    I think that covers it for me. Great piece of work.
    Randy

  28. Leya says:

    Perfect – I love the athmosphere here.

  29. Quaintrelle says:

    Wow, that’s such a beautiful picture!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

