No, I’m not talking about not commenting or being on Facebook. But the level of accusation, anger, and animus there and other places these days makes me more fearful for the world than the issues being “discussed.” If we can’t talk nicely, even if we have to eventually agree to disagree, then these are very dangerous times indeed. So I was imagining if all those “a” words I just referenced went away, because we were all doing what our moms tried to teach us.

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. I am not sure if I am meant to comment now or keep very quiet!!! Either way have a peaceful, happy day!

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    I agree about the nastiness, Janet. I’ve said many times that it’s our dividends that will destroy us before any president. I’m torn about Facebook and have seriously debated deactivating my account. I find myself chasing rabbits down rabbit holes commenting and researching to disprove fake news, only to decide I can’t comment because I don’t want to start an ugly battle, especially with someone I love and (used to) respect. Don’t get me wrong–I don’t disrespect someone who thinks differently from me, but those who post stories meant to divide us and especially those who post fake news. In the end, I don’t think Facebook is the best forum for political debate, because truly, we aren’t going to sway anyone’s opinion. Who can hear over all the chest pounding? And yet, it’s hard for me to just ignore some stories. So what’s the solution?

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Ugh–I shouldn’t type long messages on my phone! 😊 I meant divisiveness–not dividends! 😜

    • A forum like FB isn’t really the place for serious discussion–it’s “social” media and these “discussions” are often anything but sociable! It’s a great place for keeping up with friends, talking without the long distance fees, etc. But as with other online places, it can be much to easy for people to feel free to say things they never would, at least I hope not, face-to-face. But where else? So many people don’t really blogs and even after serious articles online, the comments are trash and vile attacks.

      Fake news is one issue, but also news/facts that can be interpreted differently by people with different viewpoints. They aren’t fake, just seen differently. Yet too many can’t realize that. The pro-life/abortion issue is just such a hot button issue. I’ve gotten so I rarely respond because I’m tired of the anger and downright nastiness of many who disagree. I know you don’t disrespect those who differ and neither do I, but many do and in terms I’m sick of reading.

      I wish I knew the solution. Like so much else in the world, it’s not something that can be legislated but that comes from the heart of each person and hearts are notoriously difficult to change.

      janet

  3. Dear Janet,

    I join the ranks of those sick and tired of the rants on Facebook. I’ve hidden posts from both sides of the arguments simply because they’re so hateful. No one’s listening anymore. It’s ugly. I continue on Facebook to maintain an internet presence for publication purposes. Even that’s getting ugly. I often think about deactivating my account.
    In any event, hope you’re doing well.
    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • I’m well, Rochelle, and have often considered not being on FB any longer as well for the same reasons. But it’s also a place to easily talk with friends and family. Too many adolescents running around in the world these days. 🙂

      Love to you both,

      janet

  4. Lenore Brashear says:

    Hi, and good morning.
    We here in Northern CA are getting hit with a very wild and wet rainstorm. I was almost blown away at 5:30 when trying to convince the dog to pee!! Weather and dogs, always safe subjects.
    I rarely read my facebook anymore and don’t comment on the filth, from both sides, that is there. You know Gobels, Hitler’s publicity man said; Paraphrasing here A lie told once is just a lie. A lie told a thousand times becomes the truth. Unfortunately we are heading in that direction.

  5. Janet, your comments give me pause, and also make me happy that I’ve never done FB or those sorts of social media.

    • I’ve found a plethora of offensive comments following serious articles on the internet, so I just don’t go to comments at all. It’s a sad state of affairs when people feel that they can say any nasty thing because no one can see them.

  6. Joyce says:

    I agree with all you’ve said. There are a great many of us are very sick and tired of all the belly aching, gripes, complaints, and protests. Sadly, it is the world we live in and the only thing that can change any of it is a changed heart, and that is the choice many don’t want to make, because they will always find ways and issues to argue over, protest about and try to sway people over to their side. As a conservative, Christian believer and voting Republic I stand for and support Trump in almost all that he is doing though his ways are crass at times in doing them, but as Christians I feel that we can only try to be civil and not overturn the boat that is dangerously close to capsizes in this country. But, it is not to our president I look to to fix or solve any of it, but to just let God handle it all. That is where our real hope lies and always will.

  7. Joyce says:

    While rereading what I wrote I see where I have also made some typo and grammar errors. Ha ha. So, sorry for those. I just blame them on my bad vision problem that seems to be getting worse as I age. 🙂 Have a good day, and good week, Janet. Be blessed.

  8. Dan Antion says:

    If only we truly behaved like children

  9. jan says:

    Facebook is a land mine this days. I try to only check it once a day and comment on political statements that are not full of foul language.

  10. Su Leslie says:

    wise words, well-expressed. I don’t need to say more 🙂

  11. That sage old advise is sound!
    I deleted fb several years ago and haven’t regretted or missed it at all.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

