COB Photo Challenge, February 19, 2017…biking while high

Posted: February 19, 2017 in Cee's Photo Challenges
Tags: , , , ,

During the Tour de France, the routes are heavily decorated with a variety of decorations.  Of course, bicycles figure heavily and, as yellow is the color of the jersey, the “maillot jaune”,  worn by the winner at the end of each stage and, of course, at the end of the race, many yellow bikes are seen.  This one would be a bit uncomfortable, to say nothing of not having gears, and how long would the rider’s legs have to be to reach the pedals?  Odd, indeed.

© janet m. webb 2014

Comments
  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Wonderful for the theme, actually such a fellow is hard to use… 😀

  2. Dan Antion says:

    It must be fun to see while riding, but I can’t imagine ever riding one of those.

  3. Odd but it can’t help but make you smile. 🙂

  4. All of his friends must have owned ladders for him to use upon arrival & departure. A good entry for the challenge, Janet.
    Ω

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    Janet, such a terrific find for odd balls. Wonderful 😀

  6. What a neat thing to see in France! I’ve seen a little parade of cyclist riding the most unusual bikes once in Sonora, or was it Sonoma? I always get those two mixed up.

    Anyway, one guy was riding a bike very much like this one. It did look uncomfortable and funny. I’ll have to go to my archives and see what city that was, and how much different the front wheel is to actually be able to peddle it.

  7. joey says:

    Stunning photo, I love it. Of course, anything yellow is a winner with me, and then anything vintage, and all things French… So yes, love it!

  8. jules says:

    Love the image. I’ve never seen the Tour de France live, but I admit to watching it on TV. It came through North Yorkshire a couple of years ago and the countryside was covered with ‘bike decorations’ including the front of my family’s house.

    • Years ago, my husband came home with tapes of the entire Tour borrowed from someone at work. I thought it would be horrifically boring, but once I started watching and understood the strategies better, I was hooked. I’d watch the entire thing if I had the time. It was great to see a stage and we’d love to do it again.

      The year you’re talking about is the year we saw the stage in France. We met some English people who were following the Tour and camping out. They said it was too hard to see at home!

      janet

  9. And you know there was some smarty pants who could not only balance on the thing – they’s nonchalantly ride around without hands on the handle bars. Always a showoff around

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

