A Photo a Week: Edible…staff of life

Posted: February 24, 2017 in Food, Misc. Photo Challenges, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Nancy’s challenging us to show something edible this week and although I love her choice of berries (a favorite of mine as well), I also love bread.  In a world filled with no-carb diets, I crave them.  Pasta is another of my choices. I saw these beautiful loaves at a French farmer’s market. They beg for a bit of cheese or some Normandy butter and a lovely glass of red.

© janet m. webb 2014

 

 

Comments
  1. nowathome says:

    I love bread, but unfortunately I am gluten intolorant and only have it occasionally!

  2. I love bread too, and would eat it over any sweet thing always. Entering a French bakery is always an utter treat, even though I go at least three times a week, I never tire of the experience!

    • Yes, I’m looking forward to that again. Lidl has delicious whole-grain (and other) bread and at such great prices. I have to admit to a penchant for pain au chocolat, though. 🙂

      janet

  3. If I didn’t LOVE bread and chocolate, my waistline would be in better shape. 🙂

    • 🙂 I love bread and (dark) chocolate, too, Judy, and don’t forget a nice red wine. Oops, more calories. I just got back from the gym, so I feel rather virtuous right now, but it’s sad how few calories you burn compared with those in some favorite treats, even with a great workout. 😦

      janet

  4. marianallen says:

    YUM! Good bread is heavenly. Hard to find at the Jay C in the American rural Midwest.

    • It’s amazing where you can find good bread these days, but it can certainly be pricey. I have a bread machine and need to get back to using it, but we have a bakery in Naperville that has good whole wheat bread. Oddly, a very upscale grocery store near us, where everything else is quite good, has very blah bread. You never know.

      janet

  5. Miam! I’m in for sweet butter, and a glass of red with a big hunk of fresh bread!

    Loved Judy’s comment. My waistline would be in better shape too if I had more control over bread and chocolate. 🙂

  6. Su Leslie says:

    These loaves look sooo good; I can almost smell them and I’m getting hungry.

  7. I love bread almost as much as I love berries. Wonderful photo. Thanks for joining the challenge! (Now I’m hungry.)

  8. That is one glorious crusty loaf! Looks like a prime candidate for some killer avocado toast, if you ask me.

  9. joey says:

    Oh yes, that sounds nom. You may order for me any time! 🙂

  10. bythebriny says:

    Ooh, looks delicious!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

