Simply gourd-ous!

Posted: February 28, 2017 in Art
Tags: , , , ,

As I mentioned in a previous post, while in Arizona, my parents and I visited two tent art shows, each featuring 100 or more artists, many working on their current projects at the show.  I shared a  perennial favorite from the Celebration of Fine Arts: Montana Blue Heron’s stunning weavings. When we went to Arizona’s Fine Art Expo, I discovered a new love: Kinkade Gourds from Cody, Wyoming.

Heather and I swapped “cool things to do in Cody” stories (and of course, Yellowstone National Park is not far away, before I got down to the serious business of admiring her amazing creations.  Can you believe these are gourds?.  Even in the last shot, a gourd is used as the model for the cast glass and I love her use of natural items, such as feathers and turquoise. You really need to go to Heather’s site to fully appreciate the scope of her work: woven leather covered gourds and lariat topped gourds embellished with antlers and other natural materials, botanical gourds, and more. Although these with the Indian/Southwest look obviously caught my eye, she does much more than just these styles.

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. macmsue says:

    They are stunning!

  2. You had me at ‘gourd’ but then you blew my mind with these pieces of art. Wow!

  3. Dan Antion says:

    These are stunning photos – nicely done!

  4. Laura says:

    Incredible. I’m so glad you took photos of this art!

  5. jan says:

    Beautiful! I love them.

  6. These are absolutely gourd-ous. I would have spent hours just admiring her work.

  7. Suzanne says:

    These are wonderful. I love the totemic quality. They inspire me to get out and collect some natural materials and make similar objects. Thanks so much for posting. I really enjoyed your photos.

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    These are amazing Janet! I would love to have one hanging in my house. Beautiful!

  9. Incredible! Those sure put the standard issue jack-o-lantern to shame, to say the least.

  10. These are really amazing, Janet. 🙂

  11. Wow, she’s amazing! Those are beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  12. marianallen says:

    Fantastically beautiful! What an eye and what a talent she has! Your pictures show them off well, too!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

