Weekly Photo Challenge: Wish…fences

Posted: March 8, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Another Friday Wednesday, another photo challenge, this time with the theme of “Wish.”  Yikes!  Reading that stopped my short in my virtual tracks.  Of course, I wish for things like peace in the world, that killing would stop, that everyone were happy/had enough to eat/etc.  Most people wish for these things, for themselves if not for others.

While we need the fences that keep people from acting inappropriately or badly, each of us has fences that hold us back from a better life and from becoming a fulfilled person.

Today, I wish that each of us could see what fences us in, what keeps us from trying new things, from forgiving others, for dreaming and living our dreams.  What keeps us from being kind rather than angry, contented rather than always restless and searching?  Focus on these fences, then tear them down as soon as you can so you can live your life more profitably and impact the lives of others for the positive!

© janet m. webb 2016

I almost forgot to include this wonderful song, sung here by Bing Crosby and the Andrews Sisters, “Don’t Fence Me In.”


Comments
  1. hridayanka says:

    A beautiful wish over there! Keep blogging ❤

  2. Richard says:

    Very nice photo.

  3. Hey J! Guess who?! Nice shot of the barb. Reminds MB of his younger fencing days on the farm back home. And be sheer coincidence, there was a very interesting post maybe one week back that MB came across on the history of barbed wire – believe it or believe it not! You might enjoy the read – https://iheartliterati.wordpress.com/2017/03/02/a_partial_history_of_barbed_wire/

  4. Laura says:

    I “wish” the photo challenge was still on Friday 🙂

  5. Sandra says:

    Great take on a difficult challenge, Janet.

  6. Leya says:

    Great thinking and photo too. i wish you a good week.

  7. bythebriny says:

    Wise thoughts to accompany your pretty photo. 🙂

    • Many thanks, Karen. Just finished up my tax work so I can send everything to our tax man and got caught up on recording and filing next’s year’s up to this point. So I’m taking a reading break and listening to the wind howl. 🙂

      janet

  8. Joanne Sisco says:

    A very thoughtful and caring wish with a great photo to accompany it.

  9. marianallen says:

    Wonderful wish! And thanks for the smooth croonin’.

  10. anne leueen says:

    Very interesting idea in this post. Thank you!

  11. Fabulous lead for today’s theme, Janet! Original and beautiful! Thanks for the wish! And right back at ya’!

  12. Great post, Janet. I remember how sad I was when we moved to Colorado and I saw mile after mile of fences. I asked the Lioness, “What about that old song?” She didn’t have an answer, either.
    Ω

  13. A wise message and great photo to go along as well! 🙂

  14. Inspiring words Janet! Love the image too.

  15. Anita says:

    That’s such a thoughtful wish, Janet. More achievable than ending world hunger. ☺

  16. Su Leslie says:

    An excellent response to this challenge; and a beautiful wish. 🙂

  17. NJ says:

    That’s a lovely wish 🙂 Love your take on it.

    • Thanks! It was a difficult challenge, as I always try to avoid the more obvious answers if I can, such as “I wish it were spring” (which I do.) I’m glad you liked the result.

      janet

  18. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Wish…fences […]

  19. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Dear Janet,
    what a beautiful wish!
    Yes, let’s tear those fences down (or at least try doing it).
    I wish you a lovely day! 🙂

  20. Dan Antion says:

    It’s a great idea. I hope it comes to pass.

  21. Deep thoughts for the challenge. A wish we could all stand behind.
    Issy 😎

  22. Tina Schell says:

    Well done Janet – I noticed a comment you made on another post that you struggled with a response this week. You done good girl!!!! Love the fence shot and your analogy.

    • Thanks, Tina. 🙂 I usually try to avoid the really obvious (not that wishing for spring can’t have a great photo) and I’m really thankful I didn’t know it was International Women’s Day (until about the sixth post). 🙂 But I’m glad you liked what I came up with. I just started looking through photo files until I came to this shot, which I really like, and realized I could easily make it fit.

  23. Such a simple, understated photo, yet it overflows with volumes of meaning. Very striking, and powerfully shot.

  24. Great post and also the picture!!

  25. This is a nice picture! Closely and well-taken.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

