Weekly Photo Challenge: Atop…Humming along

Posted: March 15, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s the Ides of March, the anniversary of the death of Julius Caesar and also my birthday, although the latter occurred more than a few years after Julius’ death!  Anyway, Joey asked me to mention my birthday here so that she could send me birthday wishes, so I heard (OK, read) and obeyed.  Here you go, Joey!

Atop” is today’s theme, like the candles atop a birthday cake, (which I’m not having, although I’ll probably have a dark beer tonight from those my husband gave me as a gift.  Better than cake!)  Outside my parents’ Arizona home is a tree beloved by this little hummingbird, atop the branches in this photo.  He’s a colorful guy with a huge bill for dipping into flowers.

© janet m. webb 2017

 

Comments
  1. bythebriny says:

    Wonderful shot of this sweet little hummer.

  2. slfinnell says:

    rare to see them sit still. Love hummingbirds!!

  3. joey says:

    A very happy birthday to you! 😀 Enjoy!

    Oh, and great photo!

  4. margaret21 says:

    What an amazing shot. Great take on the theme.

  5. İyi Akşamlar &

    Good Evening &

    Guten Tug &

    Bonjour &

    Buonpomeriggio &

    ¡buenos tardes

    🐞UĞUR BÖCEĞİ🐞LADYBUG 🐞

  6. ecopoet says:

    Happy B-day – & humming birds are amazing – thanks for sharing

  7. nowathome says:

    Such a stunning photo, Janet!

  8. nowathome says:

    HAppy birthday, Janet! Hope you had a great day!!!

  9. SoyBend says:

    Happy birthday! That hummer’s scruff is up so he looks really “tough.”

  10. Happy birthday Janet! :o) xxx

  11. Happy, happy birthday. I know you must be turning ’29’ because I’m hanging in at ’49’. 🙂 Love this special feathered friend of yours. I also love beer, but birthday cake with frosting comes in higher on my list than beer. 🙂

    • 29. Yeah, right! 🙂 I’m not a big fan of cake, unless it’s carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, but we stopped by the local bakery on the way back and I splurged on the ridiculously large and ridiculously priced cinnamon roll for my “cake.” I’ve only had a bit, as I’m full from lunch, but it’s quite good. Don’t know why they can’t make one half the size, which would still be more than enough, and half the price. 🙂

      janet

  12. Sad to hear about the absence of bday cake J. If you’d have given us a few days notice we could have organised something for you thru bdaycake.com. Pity. Nevertheless – Happy bday 4m MB!

  13. Sandra says:

    Beautiful picture, Janet. Well done.

  14. marianallen says:

    Happy birthday! When you finish your beer, have one for me — I love dark beer!

    • I had a lovely one with lunch, with just a hint of Scotch in it, and we’ll split on tonight after we get back from church and are watching the hockey game. I’ll raise my glass in your direction. 🙂

      janet

  15. thirdeyemom says:

    Love hummingbirds yet they are hard to capture. Great job Janet!

  16. pattisj says:

    Happy birthday, Janet! Cute hummer!

  17. Happy Birthday and congrats on the photo. Finding a hummer in a tree is no mean feat.
    Ω

  18. Leya says:

    Great shot – and Happy Birthday! I am glad the occation is celebrated, despite Julius…I have never understood why people celebrate the deathdays?

  19. Suzanne says:

    Happy birthday. What a lovely birthday visitor.

  20. anne leueen says:

    Wonderful photo of this little fellow. Happy Birthday to you .

  21. lexklein says:

    Cute little guy … and happy birthday!

  22. Anita says:

    Happy birthday, Janet! 🎂
    That’s an adorable hummingbird.

  23. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Atop…Humming along […]

  24. Thanks for the early morning smile…

    • My pleasure, Sally. I wondered (in the sense of being filled with wonder) each time I saw him how often he was there and just sitting, something that seemed so unusual for a hummingbird. But he brightened each day he was there.

      janet

  25. Tina Schell says:

    Well Happy Happy birthday Janet!! You need at least a cupcake so you can blow out a candle!! Loved your little hummingbird 🙂

  26. Su Leslie says:

    A (very) belated Happy Birthday Janet.

  27. They’re so cute when perched! Great shot and Happy Birthday!

  28. Happy Birthday, Janet! Great hummingbird, too:)

  29. Ruth says:

    Those feathers are the color of jewels. Nice!

  30. Tresa's Art says:

    Tremendous shot of the hummingbird! Spring is coming!

  31. Happy Belated Birthday!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

