Mirror Lake

Posted: April 4, 2017 in Travel
Tags: , , , , ,

The sun shone on our first afternoon in Yosemite, but the rainy writing was on the afternoon wall.  Our hope was to get in a hike during the morning without getting soaked.  A trip to the food court netted me tea and my daughter coffee and a croissant.  Back at our room, we filled up on yogurt and homemade granola, put on our various layers, and headed out.  I had my non-backpack lined with a heavy plastic bag to protect my camera and telephoto lens in case the rain showed up early.

The hike to Mirror Lake isn’t difficult and if you really want to take it easy, you can walk on the edge of the paved road.  We took the path less traveled and…dare I say?…that made all the difference.

Notice my Chicago Blackhawks jacket?  🙂  Layers were definitely the thing as it wasn’t warm.  But of course, as we hiked, we warmed up.  Jacket zippers down, then up, then…  I was also constantly changing lenses or bringing out my phone for a shot.  My favorite pants have a pocket along the leg just the right size for my phone, which is most convenient.

© janet m. webb 2017

Easy to see that there’s been plenty of rain this year and, even better, lots of snow, 190% of normal, I believe I read.  That means stored water for later in the year which after the years of drought is a huge blessing.  All the fur coats on display were furry green!

© janet m. webb 2017

I love the sound of running water (outside, that is), so this was literally music to my ears.  The trail ran close to the river most of the way, so we were able to enjoy the sound for several hours.

© janet m. webb 2017

Mirror Lake was a bit of a disappointment.  In the photos you see in official publications, on postcards, or for sale, the lake is large and, of course, mirror smooth, reflecting the mountains surrounding it (hence the name.)  In reality, silt is gradually piling up and the park service isn’t dredging it out, so the lake wasn’t particularly impressive.  Still, we had plenty of wonderful views in addition to water music, a good hike, time to talk…and no rain, just, appropriately enough, heavy mist, at least until we got back to the bottom and were sheltering in the shuttle stop.  I wouldn’t say we were dry, but it could have been much worse.

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Look like a place worth to explore, amazing… 🙂

  2. Love the moss colored trees. Great photo of you. 🙂

    • The evidence of plenty moisture this year was overwhelming, Judy, whether in water form or plant. It was a joy to see, although I would have preferred the rain waiting until we’d left. 🙂

      janet

  3. Memorable, memorable, memorable.

  4. joey says:

    Oh that’s just dreamy! All that moss on the trees, and the sound of the water. I feel like I can smell it. What a wonderful experience to share with us.
    And you, ever-intrepid! You look so happy! (And I love your bag!)

    • Glad you could come along, Joey. Maybe I should figure out how to add the sound of running water. 🙂 When our younger daughter was getting rid of the bag, I kept it and have used it often. I really need a good backpack as well, but this worked, too.

      janet

  5. Amy says:

    Great photo captures, Janet! Love the moss trees. 🙂

  6. Helen C says:

    Good morning, Janet. Wonderful photos! We were there many years ago. What I remember of the lake is different from what you described here. It was peaceful, and smooth like a mirror, I thought. Your article tells me that I should go out more now, and not to wait until things change.
    Have a wonderful day.

    • We were expecting what you described, Helen, and I didn’t know until I said something to a man working in the Ansel Adams gallery that the reason is the lack of dredging. We would have like to have seen it in its glory, but we enjoyed it anyway. If you live nearby, I would go often, but maybe just before or after the main tourist season.

  7. bythebriny says:

    I love those velvety green trees.

  8. Wonderful photos, I can just imagine what it is like to smell the trees, earth and water.

  9. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely photos Janet. I’m so glad you had a great time. 🙂

  10. Looks & sounds like you had a good time, Janet.
    Ω

  11. Nice BLOG!!! ADD my BLOG too!!! Kisses!!!

  12. ladygrace33 says:

    Great nature and photos 🙂

  13. OMGoodness, it is a lot smaller than I would have expected, too. But the trail looked pretty. I like the sound of running water, too, and DEFINITELY outside only unless there’s a cool water feature inside that’s meant to be there 😉 I’ve encountered the running water inside that wasn’t supposed to be there though, and that does tend to be a much less peaceful sound, lol.

    • Unfortunately, I know what you mean about the sound of inside water! That’s a sound no one should have to hear unless it’s water in a pipe/faucet/other place water’s meant to be!

      janet

  14. It’s a nice little hike, and I prefer the creek and little cascades to photograph these days. As you said Mirror lake is being returned to nature. When I was a girl the reflections were stunning.

    Ponds I played in as girl are meadows now.

    I wish you found my lens cap along the trail. I’m sure I lost it in some rocks next to the creek while making images. 🙂

  15. Suzanne says:

    That tree and the moss covered stones beside the water are the stuff fairy tales are made. What a great shot.

    • The drought is over as the moss attests. 🙂 It was a moist morning, although we finished hiking before the rain really started.

      janet

      • Suzanne says:

        I do love those kind of environments in drizzle though heavy rain can be too much. You are inspiring me to get organised and get down to the rain forest on the Great Ocean Road before too much longer.

      • I look forward to seeing photos of that, Suzanne. We were fortunate to get done when we did as the heavens opened from just after noon until about 4 am the next morning. However, once the rain stopped was when we got the shots with the clouds, so it was wonderful. We also didn’t have rain gear suitable for prolonged exposure to heavy rain.

      • Suzanne says:

        What a trip you had. Your stories and photos make me think of the work of Anself Adams.

      • That’s a compliment I treasure, Suzanne. I put one shot in B&W on Instagram in honor of Ansel. 🙂 There’s an Ansel Adams gallery in the park, so we were able to see some of his wonderful work.

        janet

      • Suzanne says:

        What a treat that would have been. His work is so inspirational.
        I keep meaning to get involved in Instagram but just don’t have time just now. Maybe next month…

      • It’s fun because you can just post a photo, say a few things (or not), and then tag it and you’re done except for looking at other people’s photos. But like anything else, it can be a time suck.

      • Suzanne says:

        It does sound fun. I will definitely plan to get involved sometime soon when I have a better internet connection. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

