The hidden key

Posted: April 7, 2017 in Humor, Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

For Wednesday’s Photo Challenge, I mentioned a funny story about the photo of a church.  My s-i-l was driving my husband and me around the roads of rural France, seeing sights and generally having fun.  We were walking through a small village, when my s-i-l said, “Look. This is the first Lutheran church in  France!”

As we’re Lutheran, of course we thought we should go in and see it (besides the fact that it was very old.)  But the door was locked and there were no people to be seen anywhere.  After walking around the outside, we headed for the car.  Suddenly a man came out from the building across the street and asked if we wanted to see the church.  He took us into the entryway and told us that the key was hidden behind a painting.  He moved the painting to the side, gave us the key, and asked us to put the key back when we were done!  His kindness and trust had us smiling and shaking our heads.

The unusual thing about this church was the wood-burning stove partway down on the left side.  I can imagine that side of the church had the most parishioners sitting there in winter!!

© janet m. webb 2014

© janet m. webb 2014

© janet m. webb 2014

© janet m. webb 2014

Comments
  1. A simpler time. 🙂 We have a Grange Hall not far from us that is heated with a wood stove.

  2. marianallen says:

    How beautiful (maybe not the stove so much, but the church)! That wood is GORGEOUS! A lovely building, altogether. I love those raised pulpits.

    • So many churches in Europe are beautiful, although many don’t have very large congregations these days. Although I know the building doesn’t matter, I feel the awe of God in these churches. The stove may not be beautiful, but I’d be sitting as close as possible in the winter! 🙂

      janet

  3. What always amazes me about old European is how well-constructed they are and that they’re still able to be used today. Interesting tour!

    • Although sometimes decorating is a bit over-the-top, there was a pride in detail and quality and seems to too often be lacking these days. Glad you enjoyed the tour. It was part of a great day, one of many.

      janet

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    The kindness and trust of small towns is always such a delight for city people 🙂
    I really like the second last photo looking up to the pulpit with the stained glass window in the background.

  5. I bet you feel like at home inside the church. How old is it?

  6. Dan Antion says:

    That was nice of him to let you in on the secret. Great photos, I love the stove, but I’m guessing that’s why a lot of churches burned down in earlier times.

  7. Amazing, Janet. The stove adds a new element to giving.
    Ω

  8. Su Leslie says:

    What a beautiful church! I love how trusting the people are. When I lived in Gayhurst in England, the church in the grounds was always open, yet when I went back a couple of years ago, the door was locked and a woman hurried over to me to find out what I was doing there. She did open the church for me, but hovered all the time I was there. When I asked about the security she told me that local churches were having the lead stolen from their roofs and if that happened to the Gayhurst churuch the parish couldn’t afford to replace it, and it would close. It is the most beautiful 18th century chapel, and I am horrified and angry in eqaul parts that people might vandalize it.

    • I visited a beautiful church in Pasadena, hoping to go in and get some photos, but the doors were locked. I went to the office, where there was a locked door with a buzzer. When I asked the woman about seeing the church, she took me to the church, told me all about it, and waited while I took photos. Sad that this has to be the way things are. Copper is another thing that gets stolen and then there’s always plain old vandalism. 😦

      • Su Leslie says:

        It’s terribly sad. In Durham I saw on the Cathedral door the special knocker for people seeking asylum. With churches having to lock their doors, the whole tradition of asylum can’t exist. 😦

  9. bythebriny says:

    A beautiful church, and the wood burning stove is so cool (and was very practical back in the day, I imagine).

  10. You do find the best places, Janet. This is a beautiful church.
    You captured it beautifully.
    Issy 😎

    • Thanks, Issy. When I visit, we do lots of driving over small roads and stopping in small places. My s-i-l knows so much about the region that it’s like having a travel guide with me all the time.

  11. How wonderful that he let you in and showed you the hiding spot for the key. It’s a beautiful church. I know I’d be sitting by the wood stove in the cooler months!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

