Descano Gardens in La Canada Flintridge, California, isn’t as big as Huntington Gardens in Pasadena, which I visited during my visit two years ago, but it’s large, beautiful, and much less expensive.  My daughter suggested I go there the last day of my visit and am I glad I did!  I spent well over two hours walking, smelling, sitting, changing lenses on my Nikon, and taking photos with my iPhone.  It was such a wonderfully overwhelming experience that I finally reached the point at which I could not take one more photo or linger in one more garden area!

This shot qualifies for Sally’s theme of “Macro” this week. I like it because it looks as though the flower is sticking its tongue out or the doctor or dentist said, “Say ahhhh.”

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. thirdeyemom says:

    Absolutely spectacular Janet! I got the latest iPhone and am amazed at how it takes pictures. Incredible how technology has changed.

    • My phone is only a 5s, but I got it for the camera and haven’t been disappointed.

      • thirdeyemom says:

        I just got the new iPhone as mine had no storage and wasn’t working. It was an investment but the camera is absolutely amazing. I used it more on my trip than my regular camera!

      • It’s so easy to carry, which makes it invaluable. I have a pair of Kuhl pants that have a pocket just the right size so that when I walk in the park, I can take my phone and just a few other things, all in my pants. Love it!!

      • thirdeyemom says:

        Yes. Many times now I take better pictures with my phone than my camera. I am not good at using manual on the camera and don’t have the technical skills. It has always been something I wish I could do so am glad the phone camera works well for me and my skill level.

  2. Janet, really drawn to the abstract and illusive qualities. Well done. Happy Photo Challenge.

  3. Joe Owens says:

    There is so much potential with flowers Janet. I was outside moving plants back out to our greenhouse after three nights of threatening temperatures and I saw something that gave me a great idea for my Chasing the Blooms blog. I think many of us are so busy in our day to day we do not take the time to deconstruct the pieces and parts to see what you captured. I love to do this too.

  4. As always, such a creative take on the chosen theme. You’ve given this simple little flower immense personality just by capturing it from a whole new perspective!

  5. Su Leslie says:

    Very furry tongue; should we call a doctor?

  6. happyface313 says:

    😀 Yes, aaaaaaaah 😀
    Great shot! Incredible pretty flower.
    Have a beautiful week 🙂

  7. Lignum Draco says:

    Was reading this and then my phone rang. Geez.

    Lovely photo and I’ve seen Descano Gardens through pictures before. It looks like a beautiful place to linger. And you reached the point where you couldn’t take any more photos! Wow, although it is good to just put the camera away and enjoy the moment.

  8. joey says:

    Oh yes, sometimes I think the Irises are mockin me, pantin in the heat 😉 Excellent choice!

  9. I like those fuzzy, colorful beards. Great close up look into the Iris!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

