Share Your World, April 10, 2017

Posted: April 14, 2017 in Personal
Tags: ,

Share Your World” is one of a number of challenges hosted by Cee.  She posts questions and we reveal our inner, sometimes bizarre, selves.  🙂  This week’s questions are as follows:

Have you ever participated in a distance walking, swimming, running, or biking event? Tell your story.

I’m a fast-twitch muscle person, which means I’m a sprinter.  Therefore anything over about 200 meters is a distance to me.  🙂  I have biked 18-20 miles with my husband, though.  My sprinting story is that some years ago while visiting my parents in Arizona, I went with them to a Senior Olympics event.  They’ve both participated, but my mom throws the javelin (and has set numerous US records for her age group) and discus.  These days, my dad just goes and helps.

Dad persuaded me to enter the 100, even though I hadn’t been running at all.  I just had my athletic shoes and no starting blocks (which many don’t use.)  As there weren’t many women running, I ran with a mixed-age group.  When the starter’s gun went off, I flew down the track as fast as I could.  As I neared the finish line, I could hear my dad yelling, “Run, run!!”  When I finished, with no idea how I’d done, except that I’d finished first, people were swarming around, congratulating me.  One man asked if I knew how I’d done.  All I knew by then was that I was slower than in college.  🙂  Turns out I was, at least for at time, the fifth fastest women in my age group and had one man try to get me to move to Utah to run with their track team, even saying he could help my husband find a job!  Ha!

Senior Olympics is one of those things that if you live long enough and are even moderately mobile, you can win everything!!  🙂

Name one thing not many people know about you.

I spent almost a year in Europe in the mid-seventies between my junior and senior years in college, backpacking, using Student Rail passes, working over the winter in Grindelwald, Switzerland, and having the experience of a lifetime.

What is your favorite flower?

Whatever flower is blooming!  I love lavender especially,  as well as poppies.

Things I want to have in my home (paintings, hot tubs, book cases, big screen tv etc)

In March of 2012, I did a post called “The House of My Heart“, which covers these very things.  But in short: a room for a library, a clothesline, large windows, and enormous kitchen as the heart of the house, etc.  I’d love hardwood floors and could easily live in a log cabin.  To know all the details, read the post.  It doesn’t take long.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful for the arrival of spring, that books by two of my favorite authors arrived at the library for me, and that the Chicago Blackhawks won their division and are in the Stanley Cup playoffs.

This is Holy Week, so I’m looking forward to Easter, having one of my s-i-l’s coming up for the weekend, spending Easter with friends and making homemade ravioli for the occasion.  At least I’m looking forward to eating the ravioli and making them is never as bad as it sounds, although it does take time.  It’s worth it in the end, though.  🙂

Comments
  1. Lignum Draco says:

    Have a wonderful Easter break, eating ravioli. 🙂

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    It seems we are at opposite ends of the athletic spectrum. I have no fast-twitch muscles 😉

    I love the idea of the Senior Olympics and the Masters Games. As you said, even a pokey like me could have my moment 🙂 … but wow, you’re a speed-demon!

  3. Congrats to your Mom and you on your running skills. I’m grateful to have walking skills. 🙂 Sounds like you have a wonderful weekend planned. Enjoy it with your loved ones. 🙂

    • My mom doesn’t run, just does the javelin and discus. But I got my athletic skills from her and my horseback riding from my dad. 🙂 Getting ready to start making the ravioli and once that’s done, I’ll feel much more relaxed. You have a wonderful Easter as well.

      janet

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Any length you run is ‘distance’ in my book. I’ve biked for miles and miles, running is a different thing entirely. I love that story. Congrats on winning!

    • At some point, I may start training and do some serious Senior Olympic competition, but it was fun to do then, even though I was quite sore the next days, not having trained in the least. I participated one other time, so I have small but nice collection of gold medals. 🙂 My husband is a cyclist and has done lots of long distances.

      janet

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for playing along this week in SYW. Great responses.

  6. I love hardwood floors too. I just don’t like setting my feet on them in the winter, cooler months. 🙂

    Your ravioli fillings that you posted on Instagram sound and look so delicious! Dinner is going to be really good at your house on Sunday. I’m not sure what I’m making, and I need to shop today!

    Happy Easter Janet!

    • Deborah, I was so proud of myself because I planned meals from Monday through Easter and it’s certainly made life much easier. The ravioli will be delicious, but the sauce is even better. We’re going to the house of friends and I was anticipating an easy day when my husband said “Aren’t we having ravioli?” or words to that effect. Silly me! I offered to make them for the whole group, 10+ people. Sigh. Ah well, so it goes.

      I hope you have a wonderful Easter, filled with love and tasty food.

      • What we do for our lovers! I hope he knows cause, REALLY DUDE! It’s all for you!!! I’m talkin’ RAVI-OLI!!!
        Know you are loved! It’s how we roll. 🙂

        I bought an organic hen… OMG! In California where we all eat organic it still costs a fortune! So much that I’m thinking the whole organic thing is a SCAM!

        Anyway, along with carrots, potatoes, and turnip roasted with that expensive hen. She better be moist and very flavorful! That’s what we’re having for dinner on Sunday. No Ham b/c Big Baby Boy isn’t here. He and I are the only ones that like it. 😦 I will miss him terribly!

        I also picked up all the stuff I need to make bread dressing cause we all love my Mother’s recipe for simple bread dressing.

        I’m hoping all the candy in #1 Grandson’s Easter Basket is enough to get through dessert. I’m going out to look for wildflowers and sunset to photograph tomorrow so dessert isn’t in my equation! I gotta be true to me too! 🙂

        I really wish I and my family were part of yours and coming for ravioli though! 🙂
        Happy Easter Dear Janet and the Mr. who is one lucky guy! 🙂

      • Sorry for my late reply, Deborah. I’ve moved from cooking to cleaning (or hiding, as the case may be) before my s-i-l arrives tonight. We’re going to friends’ to watch the Blackhawk’s game and of course, tomorrow morning, there’s church. Still plenty for me to do. Went to Peet’s for a half-off mocha and now I’m trying to get just a bit caught up online. Then back to organizing/hiding. 🙂

        I like ham. We always had that for Christmas because the company my dad worked for gave everyone a ham. Neither of our girls will be here because it’s just too short a time to make it feasible, but we’ll miss them…and I know they’ll miss the ravioli. I do wish you could be here to share the feast and meet some of our friends. But we’ll get together in California one of these days or I’ll get you to visit Chicago.

        Happy Easter and I’ll pass your message on to the Mr.

  7. Su Leslie says:

    You are full of surprises Janet. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Easter. The ravioli sounds delish!

  8. joey says:

    Wonderful tales of athleticism.
    I occasionally accidentally break into a run when playing, I don’t run on purpose. The Mister and Moo are runners.
    I hope you enjoy your Easter — and your ravioli 🙂

    • Somehow this and your comment on the house ended up in my spam folder. But I shall liberate them (and respond as well!) We’ll have a wonderful Easter, I’m sure, and I hope you and your family do as well.

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

