Pasadena doors #2 and a sublime cacao latte

Posted: April 20, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , , ,

One of the most disconcerting things about vacation is how quickly it seems that you never went. Taking photos helps bring back the vacation experience, so these doors transport me to one of my walks to Old Town Pasadena.  After my first day, I went online to locate somewhere to have tea or one of my periodic coffee drinks.  For the latter, I found Amara Chocolate and Coffee.

Mochas top the short list of coffee drinks I like.  At Amara, there are no mochas (by name), but their cacao latte raises the mocha bar moon-high.  Add 63% dark Venezuelan chocolate to coffee and milk and it’s sheer bliss!  I made a point of stopping there again on my last day.  They’ve officially spoiled me for all other mochas and I was happy to have had the opportunity to tell that to the owner.

With that delicious thought in mind, let’s head for the doors (and you can listen to The Doors as well, if you like.)  To see more of the doors (no caps), you can take a virtual trip around the world through the portal at Norm’s blog.  Be aware that the portal is disguised as a blue froggy-like creature.  Just click on it and the portal will open.  Just hang on to your drink!

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. happyface313 says:

    🙂 The first door somehow looks strange.
    Like it’s home made, but didn’t turn out the way it should have.
    Kind of funny.
    have a very HAPPY day 🙂

  2. Vibha Ravi says:

    I do that too. When I’m not traveling, I just pull out some pictures from our holidays and it immediately cheers me up.

  3. Interesting doors AND coffee talk – perfect. 🙂 A good mocha is pure heaven. A bad one is not so much. You are lucky to have found a place that provides delightful consistency. 🙂

    • If it just weren’t so far away, Judy. But it’s a great excuse, if I needed one, to plan another visit to Pasadena. I can always say it’s to see our daughter. 🙂

      janet

  4. I love all those doors, especially the first one. We love to sample the coffee shops when we’re visiting new places and are thrilled when we find good ones, too 🙂

  5. joey says:

    Ooh that blue with the ivy ❤

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Great photos today, Janet. I like the blue gate. I found myself studying the construction details and trying to figure out what they did and why they did it. Little things like that amuse me 😉

    • Although I don’t do that for the same things as you, I think similar things about photos, books, etc. I’m often amused by simple things or things that other people don’t seem to notice. 🙂

  7. J Walters says:

    I love that blue gate, beautiful find.

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Ooh baby that first one is gorgeous!
    Great post Janet, but then as a chocolate lover I’m rather biased 😀

  9. The dark Venezuelan chocolate added to the coffee sounds divine, Janet. And the doors are lovely, too, of course.

    • The combination of doors and that mocha is hard to beat, don’t you think? Although I’d rather do doors photos separately from drinking the mocha, as I’d have to keep putting the latter down to take shots of the former.

  10. ianbcross says:

    What a beauty that first door is. Over-ironed perhaps, but looks impressive.

  11. Now I feel like I really dropped the ball because I didn’t get any mocha when I last visited Pasadena. Sounds like a return trip is in order!

  12. jesh stg says:

    Love the mocha door and your story. Gotto try that Venezuelan mocha when we are back there! And when a scrolled I saw your capture of Yosemite. That’s where we went each year for a week for close to 20 years when we lived in Los Angeles’ suburbs and where I learned watercolor. Yosemite is so beautiful – very addicting:):)

  13. Su Leslie says:

    I’m not a mocha drinker, but I could become one after your description Janet.

  14. The first door is really neat with all that hardware, and the blue door and ivy is lovely. I want a Amara mocha now!

    I drove all the way down to Pasadena to adopt my Diva Dog from a shelter there. That’s the only memory I have of Pasadena. 🙂

  15. marianallen says:

    That mocha sounds sublime! And what wonderful doors! #64 is great, but oh, that li’l blue one!

  16. Nancy says:

    I could stay here all day and swoon over these doors!

    By the way… I’m a latte girl. Unless I am making them on my machine at home then I am a cappuccino girl. 😉

  17. Joanne Sisco says:

    The first door is so different! Love, love, love it!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

