Ethnic doors

Posted: April 27, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , ,

Ahhh, Thursday again, time for one of my favorite blogging show-and-tell times: Thursday Doors. Last week, I drove the two-and-a-half hours to Urbana, Illinois to visit one of my best friends. She and her husband have an a-door-able almost-one-year-old, so it was a lot of fun. While her husband was at work, the three of us took to the road for a bit of fun. At a stoplight, I noticed this Native American door in front of us.  🙂  (I read somewhere that quite a few Native Americans prefer being called “Indians”, although with so many Asian Indians in the US, Native American may be less confusing.)

© janet m. webb 2017

I noticed that a Mexican restaurant next to our bank has closed. This side door caught my attention but I was obviously in too much of a hurry taking the shot from the car window, to focus properly. Still and all, it’s a cool door, so I’m including it anyway.

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. Sherry Felix says:

    Ethnic door. That’s novel. I like it.

  2. ardputerbaughaolcom says:

    Very cool, both of them. I have noticed some nice doors on Mexican restaurants, too.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Great choices today. I love how we can grab doors on the run – always thinking. I love the old wooden door and the iron work. Pretty good shooting from the road, Janet.

  4. The how you captured the pics adds to these lovely images. I got the pun a-door-able… 😎

  5. msgt3227 says:

    It was cool to see a door from Urbana, especially from someone north of I-80! The restaurant door is fantastic… and I appreciate your puns!

    • I’m always glad to find other people who enjoy puns. I think they’re punny. 🙂 If you enjoy word play, look for books by Richard Lederer. “Anguished English” is one of my all-time favorite books. I literally laughed until I cried while reading it. Here’s his website, too: http://verbivore.com/wordpress/.

      Are you still enjoying your tea? The shop went completely online in February, putting me out of a job, but all that great tea is still there. They’re also coming out with some alcohol-themed teas (sans alcohol, of course) that are quite tasty.

      janet

  6. marianallen says:

    Nice ones! I’m usually driving, so I don’t get as many road shots as I used to. They’re fun!

    • Marian, I’m usually driving, too, but I’ve been known to take a phone shot WHEN STOPPED. The flip side of that is the regret I feel when I see wonderful shots that I can’t get because I’m driving or because I’m driving and there’s nowhere good to pull over. 😦

      janet

  7. Two very unusual doors, Janet. The second one looks almost like a painting.

  8. Great artwork on the Native American door, and the old wood on the Mexican restaurant door is really nice.

  9. JT Twissel says:

    I think most American Indians would prefer to be known by their tribe – Sioux or Mohican. Nice doors – but where’s the a-door-able kid?

  10. jesh stg says:

    The Indian chief door is a great one! The second one must have been berry pretty at one time:)

  11. Not your usual truck door – eye catching. 🙂

  12. Great entries today, Janet. I like the first one, it is quite stylish. You could replace Native American with First Nations, but that sounds like a Savings & Loan to me.
    Ω

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice finds Janet. It just goes to show you never know when you’ll stumble upon something share-worthy so always be ready to take a pic. Well done 🙂

  14. I like the grainy soft quality of the Mexican door and the aqua/orange color combination. It’s very pleasing to the eye.
    Donna

  15. You find the most interesting doors, Janet.
    I’ll have to open my eyes to seeing more of what is out there to photograph.
    Fabulous …
    Isadora 😎

  16. Joanne Sisco says:

    Sometimes you just have to go with the blurry photo because it’s better than nothing. Great door 🙂

  17. I’ve seen that Native American drawing before. I think it was used in a rock poster for the Fillmore or Avalon Ballroom in San Francisco during my hippie college days. What memories. Thanks! 🙂 Love that door!

  18. themofman says:

    String design on that trailer door.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

