Thursday Doors: down stairs doors

Posted: May 11, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve lived in basements and I’m not a fan.  I like light too much and being able to look out the windows.  But if you live downstairs, you might as well have a great door.  Some good stonework is always an advantage, too.  Just be careful on those steps when it’s slippery.

Whether upstairs or downstairs, you can always look forward to Thursday Doors, the challenge that opens doors around the world for you.  Our doorkeeper, Norm, can be found at his blog, Norm 2.0.  That’s also where you  can do a Dr. Who and go through the portal and visit doors everywhere, although not via a telephone booth.

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. Handsome doors, but I’m glad I didn’t have to move furniture in and out. 🙂

  2. dennyho says:

    I’d live in this basement space if I could have this door…nice find!

  3. Sherry Felix says:

    What an adorable little red door you found.

  4. Lignum Draco says:

    That first one looks like an old phone booth door. Nice selections and a great door brightens up any location.

  5. Loved the top Red door. The stone work is lovely.

  6. joey says:

    That first door is just so charming! Ooh!
    We had our bedroom in the basement for 3 years (and the nursery) and I can honestly say it was wonderful to retire to the darkness of the cave at night — great sleeping! You’re right about light though, sure glad we had an upstairs to enjoy! 🙂

    • I can see that for sleeping it would be great. Our bedroom has one of those half-moon windows above the regular windows, so it’s never really dark and sometimes, depending on the moon, it can be quite light and not so good for sleeping, although my husband can sleep pretty much anywhere. Me, not so much 🙂

      janet

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Those are some lovely doors indeed – the red one is particularly inviting for a basement location. Nice finds 🙂

  8. jesh stg says:

    The first door fits very nicely in its surroundings, as a contrast!I agree a basement is too dark to live.Am glad you ar outta there:) I really need windows!
    Thanks for your comment about the children. They’re my grands, all three from one set of parents.

    • The basement living was a long time ago, so that’s all good. I do like having a basement in the house, just don’t want to live in it. 🙂

      janet

      • jesh stg says:

        I agree! Maybe you know that there aren’t many basements in California. Even here in the mountains, our house is built under an angle, so “below” the house is a space of over 8 feet, but it’s still not a basement!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You have a great selection of “below street level” doors. The red door is pretty, but so is the stone surrounding it. It actually feels like a scene from Dr. Who, without the blue box. I would love to open that door and take a peek inside.

      • Wouldn’t it be fun to be able to look into the houses we see? I love to walk or drive by houses at night when people have their windows uncovered and just glance in. Not to see anything intimate, but to just see what the interior of the house is like.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, I’ve seen so many doors via Thursday doors that I would love to open. With some, I imagine the same beauty on the inside as on the outside.

  9. msgt3227 says:

    These are wonderful doors, janet! Any hint as to where they are located?? Just curious, not like I am going to drive there just to see cool doors!

  10. I’m with you on not wanting to live in a basement, but their doors make great subjects for photographs. I love the red one, of course. And that stonework is fabulous.

  11. happyface313 says:

    🙂 they look kind of spooky 😉
    Have a very HAPPY day 🙂

  12. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely doors; but like you, I wouldn’t enjoy the lack of light in basement living. The boy-child briefly had a basement flat. We were so glad he moved out by the end of summer; it would have been horrible in winter.

    • I know that theoretically you can have plenty artificial light, but I do like to be able to look out and open windows.

      janet

      • Su Leslie says:

        Me too. And no matter how much artificial light you can have, there will still be that moment before you turn the lights on when it just feels really dark and gloomy.

  13. Awesome series of doors for this post, Janet!

  14. I would not like to live in a basement either. I do love sunshine streaming in my windows! But I do admire the way the entrances to them feel like little, hidden alcoves. -Amy

  15. Dan Antion says:

    Love the red door. I can’t help but imagine the effort to get furniture down those curved steps and into that door.

  16. Madhu says:

    What a lovely collection of doors. Coveting that red beauty.

  17. Hammad Rais says:

    Amazing captures these are, Janet 🙂

  18. marianallen says:

    Wow! Those doors are outstanding! I love the one with the tiny curved staircase down to it. Wouldn’t want to try to get a sofa in or out through it, mind you….

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

