As much as I enjoy color, especially after a long winter, sometimes only black and white will do.  For me, this is such a case.  Every third Monday, Sally asks us for a monotone shot taken with a mobile or none-traditional camera.  This was taken pre-iPhone some years ago with my iPad.

“To see in color is a delight for the eye but to see in black and white is a delight for the soul.” – Andri Cauldwell

© janet m. webb

There’s something strange and powerful about black-and-white imagery.
”– Stefan Kanfer

Comments
  1. I love it too… that are clear colors, there is no bright-white or dark-black, it’s just b&w and that makes it so special :o)

  2. nowathome says:

    This image has a magical feel!

  3. Janet, I really enjoyed your still life, the slice of everyday life made bolder by monochrome. I use my iPad for editing and post processing. Never used it for photo shoots. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Sally, I got my iPad long before my iPhone (or any phone that took photos.) The iPad’s much harder to carry around, of course, but I remember taking photos of the Chihuly installation in Phoenix and hearing someone behind me remark on what great photos the iPad took. 🙂 So until I got my phone, the iPad was my go-to camera.

  4. I especially like the shadows on the wall…to me it adds a lot and i think B&W works very well for that.

  5. i feel like I am looking through a frosted window, Janet. Outstanding use of shadows in B&W.
    Ω

  6. There’s something ethereal about this piece. It’s mysterious.

  7. Stunning shot, as usual. I have a lamp much like this one, still waiting for me in a box to install it, but I don’t think the background it will light will be quite so amazing. Books, rather. 🙂

    • Janet, that first sentence made my day. Thanks. 🙂 This is an IKEA lamp, so we got great shadows for a budget price. 🙂 As for books, I often think I should write a blog titled “Decorating with Books.”

      janet, also

  8. Su Leslie says:

    This is a really good shot Janet. I love the composition and it speaks to me of peacefulness and reflection.

  9. Oh, yeah. Have to agree with you on this one. Black and white is the only way to go. Perfect!

  10. Madhu says:

    Beautiful! Can see why it had to be monochrome for those soft shadows.

  11. Amy says:

    Perfect, yet so beautiful!! Excellent shot, Janet!

  12. bythebriny says:

    Beautifully simple and effective.

  13. Shadows on the wall are so intriguing…a whole different world going on there which we bump into sometimes? Love this one

  14. Hammad Rais says:

    Love the softness, which is very much reigning the whole snap.

  15. marianallen says:

    Filmmaker Wim Wenders says b&w shows “the shape of things.” Beautiful shot!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

