The fourth Monday means I get to chose the category for Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge.  Today I chose “Animals” and, unusually for me, I’m featuring a cat.  This beauty belongs to our younger daughter who rescued her from the streets of Philadelphia.  She reclines in queenly fashion in the new cat bed we got for her.  I’m not sure how much she uses it, as she like to sleep with our daughter, but in Goldilocks fashion, it’s just the right size for any time she deigns to use it.

“Cats are connoisseurs of comfort.”
~James Herriot, James Herriot’s Cat Stories

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Oh, my, that looks rather cozy!
    Have a very HAPPY Monday, dear Janet! 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    What a delightful cat.

    • I’m not generally a cat person, but she’s a winner.

      janet

      • Suzanne says:

        Yes, I like other people’s cat but I’m not motivated to get one. She does look like a keeper though.

      • We couldn’t have a cat, as I’m allergic to them, not as much as when I was younger, but enough that I could have to be taking something every day. When I visit on my own and stay with our daughter, I have to take antihistamines every day.

  3. Janet, you’ve captured the sparkle in her. Happy Photo Challenge.

    • Thanks, Sally. I hope your week’s off to a great start. Just got in from three hours of working in the garden (or the garden-to-be) so I can barely type. 🙂

      • Janet, I can sympathize. I spend about that each morning, which puts me into a Zen state of mind in the doing. Then come inside to reality. Happy gardening.

      • This was the hard work of digging up an area that, through neglect, has become full of weeds, grass, etc. I’ve been digging up, then getting off as much dirt as possible, etc. Today I finally got it almost done and got my flowers planted. I’m beat! I spent another hour or so this afternoon digging, too.

  4. Gotta love those golden eyes. She’s a beauty, Janet, and this is a wonderful photo.
    Ω

  5. marianallen says:

    Oh, she IS a beauty! Nice bed, too — shaped like a box — good choice!

  6. We had a black cat that looked just like your daughter’s. My wife always kept it out of site around Halloween time for some reason!

  7. anne leueen says:

    Wonderful! I think this is a cat wise enough to know how lucky she has been to find a home with your family.

  8. Love how you captured that exquisite yellow of her eyes.

  9. Dan Antion says:

    That seems to be working well for her.

  10. Lignum Draco says:

    Entranced by the eyes. A lovely photo of the Queen of the castle.

  11. Tina Schell says:

    Wow, look at those eyes Janet! Great shot. And good for your daughter for rescuing her!

  12. joey says:

    Pretty kitty! I think it’s a good spot!

  13. She’s a beauty. I love her eyes. Her bed looks cozy, and the lighting sets the mood for coziness too.

  14. Gorgeous cat and so gracious. I hope you are not too sore from all that gardening, Janet. It will be worth it, that’s for sure.

  15. Madhu says:

    Beautiful photo of a regal subject. We had one just like her years ago when we lived on a tea plantation. Sadly she was more attached to the house than us, and vanished without trace when we moved 😦

  16. What big eyes she has….

  17. Joanne Sisco says:

    Black cats are very difficult to photograph but you’ve captured her beautifully. We can learn a lot from cats on their ability to relax 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

