Weekly Photo Challenge: Evanescent…monarch

Posted: May 24, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

The aroma of freshly-made granola perfumes the air in our house this morning, while outside, the flowers I finally planted have been drinking deeply of the rain. I’m ready for a bit of sunshine, but there isn’t much I can do. Tea and a good book are in my plans for the afternoon, at least the part where I’m not working at something.

Today’s Photo Challenge theme is “Evanescent.”  Butterflies are, by nature, evanescent, flitting from flower to flower.  To see one at rest is truly an evanescent moment.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. Tom Schultz says:

    Exquisite, especially as framed by the lavender flowers.

  2. Incredible detail. Perfect for Challenge.

  3. viveka says:

    Beautiful …. image, Janet!!!!! The colors … the sharpness! Lovely entry.

  4. doodletllc says:

    How lovely.

  5. Beautiful colors, Janet.
    Ω

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photo, Janet. I had to look up the word, so I learned something today, too 🙂

  7. Neha Jain says:

    Stunning. Well captured 🙂

  8. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Dear Janet,
    this is so beautiful!
    Have a very HAPPY evening 🙂

  9. Sue says:

    Ah, a lovely tot of evanescence, Janet!

  10. restlessjo says:

    Fabulous shot! 🙂 🙂

  11. Sandra says:

    It’s like a mobile stained glass window – beautiful. Thanks for the reminder too! 🙂

  12. Leya says:

    The epitome of evanescence – beautiful as well!

  13. Gorgeous photo. It could almost be a painting it is so beautiful. 🙂

  14. thirdeyemom says:

    What a stunning shot Janet!

    • I’m pleased you think so, Nicole. How’s your weather? We’re still in chilly and rainy here. I finally got my couple of beds free of the mass of weeds and got my flowers in, so at least I don’t have to water them. 🙂

  15. joey says:

    So pretty. Ours usually arrive in August and stay on through September. Is it the same up your way?

  16. bythebriny says:

    Beautiful image! Yes, butterflies are fleeting but so lovely.

  17. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely image Janet. And a much-needed butterfly “fix” now that ours have all hatched and gone.

  18. de Wets Wild says:

    Another fabulous contribution to the weekly challenge, Janet!

  19. galeweithers says:

    I have never been able to photograph a butterfly simply because they never stay still long enough for me to get my act together. I am always envious then of those able to capture such beauty. Your photo is amazing and I love the detail. Well done!

  20. One of the more important of nature’s summer workers, thanks for honoring it.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

