This will be my last Thursday Doors entry for a few weeks, as I’ll be leaving for another visit to France on Memorial Day (and yes, I’ll be taking photos.)  So I’m pulling out all the stops, featuring lots of red doors.  Only a few blocks from PAFA, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, where our daughter attended school and where she now works, is North Mole Street, a one-block alley of historic row houses.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, Philadelphia is not only known for its row houses, but for its alleys, usually one block in length, pedestrian only, filled with “Trinity” houses, supposedly named for their three rooms, one to each floor – as in Father, Son and Holy Ghost. (Click on the link to read more about the alleys.)  These alleys have been mostly renovated and are home to many young, well-to-do residents.

Thursdays Doors is the brain child of our Montreal connection, Norm and his middle-aged mind.  We’re so glad he came up with it!  Thanks, Norm.  You’ve opened doors all over the world through this challenge.

© janet m. webb

© janet m. webb

© janet m. webb

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. Great red door finds, Janet! Safe travels to France and will be looking forward to your French Connection images!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    You can’t go wrong with beautiful red doors, Janet, but adding an arched top, that just seals the deal ! I wish you safe travel while in France, and I’m looking forward to the photos.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Happy travels back to France!! There is never a shortage of interesting things to see and experience there.

  4. thirdeyemom says:

    Have a wonderful trip Janet! Are you going to a different part this time? How long will you be gone? I was a French major in college and lived in Paris and Marseille years ago. France always holds a special place in my heart. 😌

    • I’ll be going to the same area to stay with my s-i-l and b-i-l again. I’ll be there for just over two weeks, which is a good amount of time. It’s always fun and I’m looking forward to it. Pain au chocolat!! Mmmmmm. 🙂

  5. joey says:

    Ooh, I do believe the gates have it today! Love all the red!
    Bonne vacances! 🙂

  6. Loved the red doors and looking forward to your trip photos!! Have fun and stay safe 🙂

    • Thanks, Madison. I’ll do my best to keep safe but where we are is sort of the hinterlands, so that helps. 🙂 I took almost all the photos off my phone, so I’m ready!

      janet

  7. marianallen says:

    So! Many! Red! Doors! Naturally, I love the arched ones the most. 🙂 Thanks to the link to the alleys. Imma go read that, now.

  8. Wow! Red doors and red shutters, thanks Janet. Have a wonderful time in France, bon voyage 🙂

  9. Vicky says:

    Lovely red doors! Travel safely and enjoy…

  10. Great selection of red doors, gates, and shutters! I like the patio with the umbrella with lights strung across it behind the first set of red gates.

    Bon voyage mon amie!

  11. Susi Lovell says:

    I’d never heard of Trinity houses. That’s so interesting. Thanks.

  12. jesh stg says:

    Red doors – you found so many! Red and blue combi I like the best:)

  13. klara says:

    can’t go wrong with red doors indeed. those alleys sound like a great place to live. enjoy your stay in France.

  14. julieallyn says:

    I’m liking this!!

  15. anne leueen says:

    Love the doors. Safe travels!

  16. Jet Eliot says:

    I love the streets and back alleys of Philadelphia, Janet, and your photos do a great job of capturing the uniqueness. The wonderful old, broken and uprooted sidewalks come to mind from these photos. Have a wonderful time in France~~

    • Philly is so full of history that it’s fun to explore. I always find more things to photograph than I have time for. 🙂 As for France, I’m sure I’ll have a great time as usual and there will be photos for many blog posts when I return. Thank goodness for my iPhone, which can easily go with me everywhere!!

      janet

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

