Weekly Photo Challenge: Transient rainbows

Posted: June 21, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The theme this week for the photo challenge is “Transient.”  I’ve been transient this summer, my second trip being to France and I’ve been back less than a week.  One afternoon after a rain, we saw a double rainbow that curved completely across the sky.  This segment only gives a hint at how bright it was, as my iPhone couldn’t capture it in all its glory, the deepest colors and most defined stripes I’ve ever seen, yet too transient.  Oddly enough, just a few days ago we saw another very bright double rainbow here in the Naperville, Ohio area.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. Jeanne says:

    Love the bright sunlight and dark shadows against the spectacular rainbows…doubles are the best. Beautiful.

    • Thanks, Jeanne. Any rainbow is beautiful, but doubles are certainly special. I wish my shot could have conveyed the absolute beauty of this set, but what I have will have to do. 🙂

      janet

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That is stunning. Such a complete collection of colors in the spectrum – nice!

  3. Double rainbows are awesome, Janet. Nice catch.
    Ω

  4. Wow! Wow! Double Wow!

  5. Oh Wow! That’s beautiful!

  6. andy1076 says:

    Beautiful…! I’m about to share a rainbow I found too ☺️

  7. Lovely capture Mrs J!

  8. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet and welcome home!

  9. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely image Janet. Even with the iPhone it’s a great capture. There is definitely something a bit special about double rainbows, and to find such clear colour too. Cool.

  10. Leya says:

    Welcome home – and this is such a lovely capture. A double one!

  11. marianallen says:

    Wow! That is astounding! I’ve never seen a rainbow that solid-looking before!

  12. HappyFace313 says:

    🙂 This is really pretty, Janet!
    Have a very HAPPY day 🙂

  13. Anita says:

    Transient and special! I don’t remember the last time I saw a double rainbow. Good capture, Janet!

  14. nowathome says:

    Wow, What a great shot!

  15. Beautiful, and perfect for the challenge.

  16. magcos says:

    this is framed so perfectly – nice job!

  17. I’ve never seen a double rainbow. My friend lives in Hawii for 3 months out of the year and sent me a photo of one. They’re beautiful; as is yours, Janet. Gorgeous colors on the bottom one.Pretty …
    Izzy 😎

  18. Thanks times two. Pretty …
    Izzy 😎

  19. Dina says:

    Gorgeous!! 🙂

  20. Computer says:

    ! I’ve never seen a double rainbow.

  21. maxlcrepeau says:

    ! I saw another one last night.

  22. Somnath says:

    Wanted to see something like this..have’nt seen it for a long time

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

