Friday Flowers…a rose by any other name

Posted: June 30, 2017 in flowers
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

These days, I’m not sure “A rose by any other name would smell as sweet” is true.  Many of today’s hybrid roses have no scent at all, something that brings me much sadness.  It’s true that they’re still beautiful, but appealing to only one sense is not nearly as wonderful as touching both sight and smell.

Although you can’t smell these French roses, (I haven’t figured out how to add smell to my posts, yet), I hope you enjoy the sight of them.

It was June, and the world smelled of roses. The sunshine was like powdered gold over the grassy hillside.
~Maud Hart Lovelace, Betsy-Tacy and Tib

© janet m. webb 

We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorns have roses.
~Alphonse Karr, A Tour Round My Garden

© janet m. webb

It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.
~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

© janet m. webb

 

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely photos Janet; and I like the quotes too. It makes me sad as well that so many roses are unscented, but it does make finding a perfumed one so much more enjoyable!

  2. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Soooo pretty!
    Have a very HAPPY Friday 🙂

  3. nowathome says:

    Beautiful roses!!

  4. These are beautiful roses! I know what you mean about smell and roses. On my walks I’ve been stopping to smell the roses, and very few have had any scent. It is sad, but I love those with scent all the more! 🙂 Have a wonderful week-end!

    • Beauty is great; beauty and a lovely aroma is even better. The only exception to that rule that I can think of is those women who wear so much perfume that it knocks you dead at 60 paces!!

      Have a great weekend, too.

      janet

  5. I love your linking of images with prose and poetry-Thank you!

  6. Beautiful. There’s something about experiencing roses that never leaves you – their wonderful smell imprint deep and is quick for recall

  7. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful photos and I like that you added the “Little Prince” quote.

  8. Leya says:

    Lovely…and I love The Little Prince as well.

  9. Joanne Sisco says:

    They are lovely and I’m imagining the sweet scent – especially the 2nd one. It’s really a shame that roses rarely have any scent now. It’s a loss.

  10. joey says:

    Lovely trio of roses and quotes 😀 I LOVE The Little Prince!
    I hadn’t noticed that about the hybrids. I’m not much a rose person, and I guess my rosebush is not hybrid, cause it’s fragrant. I think that’s half of what makes it so beautiful — proving your theory.

  11. Jet Eliot says:

    A wonderful dose of rose here, Janet, most agreeable.

  12. SoyBend says:

    Gorgeous close ups!

  13. restlessjo says:

    That pale, pretty is my favourite, Janet. Yesterday we had deep carmine petals from one end of the garden to the other, after a few days of relentless rain, but their recovery rate is wonderful. I’m just waiting for the sun to get high enough in the sky so I can go and sit out there and admire. 🙂 🙂

  14. marianallen says:

    What beautiful roses! My grandfather used to have miniature roses, but they didn’t like our soil and they also succumbed to Japanese beetles. Your roses are lovely, and I can almost smell them through the monitor!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

