Welcome to July!  Hard to believe, but there we are.  The best thing about July for me is getting to watch the Tour de France.  My husband and I saw a stage in 2014 and it was great.

Today’s theme in the Photo Challenge is “Bridge“, a literal bridge or a figurative one.  Each January, I visit my parents, who live in Arizona.  We often attend Brian Lebel’s auction of Indian and cowboy art held in Mesa every year.  Much of this art bridges time, cultures, and artistic styles, such as this deerskin and beaded pouch.  I can’t imagine doing all that bead work, but I can appreciate it.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. A very colorful photo and subject for the challenge, Janet. A lot of talent on both sides of the camera lens.
    Ω

  2. Lenore Brashear says:

    Lovely picture. I tried beadwork when I was much younger. They say you get more patient as you age. Sorry, not me. I tried it on a loom and made enough to decorate a pair of moccasins. I do admire the old hand work of the Native Americans. All the different patterns, very tribal in style.
    Not for me to do though!!
    Where in Arizona are your folks? I spent time in my younger days in Wickenburg working on a Guest “Dude” Ranch. What fun!!

    • Lenore, my parents live in Mesa. I always enjoy visiting them, especially in January, and love to catch the auction, although we go mostly to the pre-auction where you can view the best of what’s going to be for sale. You can see everything up close that way, as in this shot.

      janet

  3. claywatkins says:

    Indeed, beautiful beadwork. It’s a lost art. When I was a young boy (a long time ago) I had a beadwork wallet – a relatively small object compared to the work in your photo. Excellent interpretation. Enjoy the week and the Tour de France.

    • You’re right, Clay, not many are doing this sort of work anymore. When you think how long it takes and what you’d have to get for it to make it worthwhile financially, it’s no wonder. I’m glad there are so many examples still in museums.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed my interpretation and appreciate that you took the time to comment as well. I’m enjoying both my week and the Tour and have 2 1/2 weeks of the latter left. 🙂

      janet

  4. Definitely a labor of love! That pouch is wonderful, and your interpretation of bridge

  5. I like your interpretation this week, linking cultures. I love beadwork.

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Janet! 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    Such a diverse take on the prompt, Janet. Well done.

  8. I would love to attend that auction sometime. Even if I wasn’t going to bid on anything it would be fun to attend.

  9. It’s beautiful beadwork. I have been known, sometime in the past, to do some beadwork myself. I rather enjoyed it, but nothing as large or intricate as the deerskin pouch in your photo.

  10. […] – Weekly Photo Challenge Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Bridge – Cee’s Photography This, that and the other thingWeekly Photo Challenge: Bridge…a bridge of beads stenoodieWeekly Photo Challenge: […]

  11. Su Leslie says:

    Great take on the theme Janet. And a beautiful work of art!

  12. I love where you took the challenge. Love the pouch.
    Iz 😎

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

