Thursday Doors: Portes françaises inhabituelles

Posted: July 6, 2017 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , , , ,

If Google Translate is to be trusted, that title means “Unusual French Doors” and that’s just what these splen-door-ous beauties are.  Why doors?  When some of us see doors, our en-door-phins start raging, making us all ambassa-doors for Norm’s Thursday Doors challenge.  It may seem door-ky to you, but it’s a very real phenomenon.  Does that make us door-hawks?  Maybe, but we’re proud of it.  Feel free to en-doors us by stopping by Norm’s and seeing what we found.  Or join us.  Just picka-door.  🙂

© janet m. webb

 

© janet m. webb

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. I love these mail boxes! Especially the green one. I am trying to translate the French… does that mean don’t put newspapers or magazines in the mailboxes?
    I’m pretty sure “journaux” is newspaper… but imprimes has me scratching my head. I’m headed to my French dictionary!

  2. I find such old post boxes especially interesting.

    Kind regards
    Elke

  3. “splen-door-ous ” Love it!

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I love the old letter boxes. Great photos, and cute word play 🙂

  5. joey says:

    POSTES for the win here, Janet — all charmers 🙂

  6. Susi Lovell says:

    Had a good laugh over your intro. Very clever and funny. The printing at the bottom of the box says “Don’t put newspapers or flyers in this box.”

  7. slfinnell says:

    Glad you weren’t in-doors for this week’s post. Sad attempt lol

    • Ooo, I didn’t think of that one. I’m sure I could have used it somewhere. 🙂 If I were in-doors, the perspective would certainly be different, especially in the first shot!!

      janet

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    I love the way you a-door-ned your post with lots of punny word-play 😀
    The mailbox takes the prize. The green one seems to be an old coal or ice chute door?
    As for the last one I have no idea what that is, but I do like the rich dark color 🙂

    • I’m not sure what those last two are. Sometimes when we’re jaunting around the little French towns, I’m just taking shots as quickly as I see them and don’t always have time to figure out what they are. 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed the puns (and yours works well, too). Happy Thursday and thanks as always for hosting this door-ling (maybe an Aussie accent there?) challenge.

      janet

  9. jesh stg says:

    Thanks for the alert! I should do the linking when I’m fully awake, lol! I fixed it.
    Like the play on words you have in your intro:) In Holland we used to have our mail slot in our front door!

    • I know what you mean, Jesh, about the mornings. I responded to Deborah’s comment before I really realized what she was referencing. 🙂 There are places in the US where the mail slot is in the door or the wall by the door. But many places have mailboxes by the street so that the mail delivery person can go by in a car.

      janet

  10. Jeanne says:

    All lovely. Tiny gems.

  11. Oh the grammatical turns of phrases had me in stitches.
    Some good pics.

  12. Ruth says:

    A-door-able! 🙂

  13. dimlamp says:

    Whether they’re in-doors or out-doors, they’re an interesting collection.

  14. J Walters says:

    Love your images, but love the text too. Very very clever.

  15. Joanne Sisco says:

    You were certainly feeling the door-magic with all your play on words today 🙂

  16. I love the puns, Janet, especially ‘en-door-phins’ that’s a good one. 🙂 Judging by what’s printed in most newspapers nowadays, they probably deserve to be called ‘junk mail’ 😉

    • Sigh. How unfortunate about newspapers and so many other “news” sources. Most of them have turned into opinion sources masquerading as news, which makes the situation much worse.

  17. Pistachios says:

    Hahaha you did well with the door puns! And lovely doors too. The second one’s my favourite here (for some reason, it made me think of an old fashioned oven, but it’s probably not that..!)

    • Since I saw it outdoors, I hope it wasn’t an oven!! Unless Hansel and Gretel and the witch were hiding somewhere nearby. 🙂 Glad you liked the puns. I had lots of fun doing them.
      janet

  18. dennyho says:

    All unique and off the typical path! Wondering what that aqua, metal one could be?

  19. Madhu says:

    Ha, I know a group whose members call themselves door-whores 🙂 Gorgeous examples.

    • That would work, but wouldn’t be my choice of verbiage. 🙂 Glad you liked these, Madhu. It’s amazing how many interesting doors there are in the world and, as with so many other things, maybe the ones in other places seem the most interesting to us.

      janet

  20. Cool mailboxes. The teal one is my favorite.
    Donna

  21. It’s a little bit distdoorbing but we know exactly what you mean. 😀

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

