Les toilettes français: press 1 for…

Posted: July 8, 2017 in Travel
Tags: , , , ,

When in France, and probably other countries, when you need to use the facilities, you ask for the toilet, not the bathroom.  And unless you use a public toilet (no guarantee as to whether you’ll really want to use it or not), you’ll need to buy something: a coffee or something to eat.

Unlike most toilets in the US, where there’s only one lever, you’ll face a choice.  If you have, as the grade school children say, gone #1, use the small part of the “button.”  There will be less water used.  In the case of #2, use the larger button.  This was on the wall, but many cases, the button is on top of the toilet.

00EAC7EA-3A71-457E-A86B-1EBDA5467802

In one of the cafes we visited, there were some excellent decorative posters on the wall,  a little something to look at while waiting for that feeling of relief.   And once you feel better, go enjoy that espresso! Just be sure to press the right button.  🙂

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. The toilets were such a learning experience for me when I was in Europe! I had forgotten all about the differences until reading your post. Without exception, though, every one I visited was much cleaner than the public restrooms here. Another thing I learned about was having to pay to use some of them that weren’t associated with eating or coffee establishments, and tipping the attendant.

    • I remember having to pay a/o tip the attendant at the Paris train station, but since then, I haven’t come across that. The public toilets really vary. The worst toilets (when I visited in the 70’s) were the ones that were just one hole in the floor and, as you’d expect, that area where you had to stand wasn’t always very clean. 😦
      janet

  2. There is one local chain restaurant that has installed this type of button. In the long run, I’m guessing it is good for the environment. 🙂

    • The #1 button uses less water, I think, and I know someone here who has similar buttons on their toilets. I think it’s a good idea, too, but they’re not common in the US as they are in Europe.

      janet

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I think these toilet options are becoming more common. Lots of the toilets available today in stores (to buy, not use) include these options. It’s amazing that such a common thing, I mean we all… is so different from place to place.

    • Although we’re in a rental and haven’t shopped for a toilet ever, I think you’re right. There are also toilets that use much less water and both that and this option are good overall.

      janet

      • Dan Antion says:

        Although, I read that in Germany, they have reduced water usage so much that they have to add fresh water to the sewage system to keep it functioning properly. Still, I guess that’s better.

      • Maybe they can find something in between, but it seems adding water would be better.

  4. WOW … I would have said bathroom. Thanks for the good info. Wouldn’t wanto to have to dance around until I was understood. LOL … my hubby just put in a new commode in our bathroom and it has those 2 buttons on top. It’s supposedly a water savor. Progress … at least we don’t have to use outhouses.
    Iz 😎

    • Yes, progress, Issy. I think the two-button idea is a good one and I imagine eventually that will be the standard. Progress indeed, but there are always those port-a-potties. 🙂

      janet

      • UGH … no please. Port – o – Potties were what they had/have at art shows. I couldn’t bring myself to use them. The horror in there was too much. Eventually, we puechased a motorhome to travel to the shows and I felt like a princess to be able to use my own facilities. YIKES … I hadn’r realized how traumatized I was. LOLOL

  5. joey says:

    Great posters, I agree. Retro things always appeal to me.
    The Mister put the new sort of toilet in our big bathroom. Up for #1, down for #2. It does save water and we’re pleased with it 🙂

    • Lots of fun retro things where we were. When we have our own house, rather than renting, I hope that we can have this sort of button, too. Saving water is always good.

      janet

  6. Tina Schell says:

    🙂 as always a humorous slant on your post Janet. I see more and more of the 2-level flushes here in the states. Personally the smaller flush is a bit of a waste IMHO. Just sayin’

  7. I’ve always wanted a bidet. I suppose that would use too much water, but you’d be really clean when finished with your toilette. 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

