Weekly Photo Challenge: Collage…kitchen

Posted: July 12, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

What a morning!  Not internet, not TV, no watching the Tour de France stage, no checking email, etc., etc.  Thunderstorms, internet back, internet out while finally watching Tour.  Ran errands.  More thunderstorms looming.  But my garden is happy with all the rain, the repeat of the Tour stage is on, and I’m finally back online with the theme for the photo challenge today,  “Collage.”

Collage (from the French: coller, “to glue”;[1] French pronunciation: ​[kɔ.laʒ]) is a technique of an art production, primarily used in the visual arts, where the artwork is made from an assemblage of different forms, thus creating a new whole.

A collage may sometimes include magazine and newspaper clippings, ribbons, paint, bits of colored or handmade papers, portions of other artwork or texts, photographs and other found objects, glued to a piece of paper or canvas. The origins of collage can be traced back hundreds of years, but this technique made a dramatic reappearance in the early 20th century as an art form of novelty.  (Wikipedia)

I’m not featuring a photo collage of any sort, but rather a collage that our younger daughter did before going to and graduating from art school.  This is the kitchen in our former house.  On the left is an ink drawing, on the right, the collage  I cherish this both because she did it and because we no longer live in the house.  Although she hasn’t updated her website for some years, you can see some of the art she’s done at her website.

© janet m. webb and M. L. Webb

 

 

Comments
  1. barrydjd says:

    Won’t tell you who won today’s stage. Let it be a surprise:)

  2. andy1076 says:

    Yipes!!! bit of everything all at once huh!

  3. I wish I had talent like your daughter. But if I attempted a pencil drawing of a square, everyone would guess a circle. No rain here today. But we did have what amounted to a spoonful of drops from the sky yesterday. Enough to just dirty the car and windshield. Still in the 100’s, though.

  4. Sight11 says:

    I liked how your daughter made an effort to draw even things missing from the collage with a pen(or pencil). She must have an acumen for observations.
    And I kept my promise…

  5. Those sweet things our kids do are treasures. Tell her well done.

  6. Nice one J. Daughter v talented also as I can see.

  7. Dan Antion says:

    What a wonderful memory 🙂

  8. Jeanne says:

    Love, love, love the side-by-side kitchen art…so glad I stopped by for a look.

  9. Sandra says:

    I’d be seriously miffed at missing the Tour today. Lovely photos Janet. Hope things improve weatherwise soon.

    • The good news is that they showed the coverage immediately after it was on the first time, so even though we knew who won, we got to enjoy it. Looking forward to the mountain stages the next couple days. As much as I like the sun, we could use the rain and the garden is loving it, so that’s good. Cheers!

  10. I am enchanted by the artwork. I cannot decide which I like better – and I suppose that I won’t try to figure that out. I can see why the pieces are cherished.

    • I feel just as you do, Maggie. I love them both. They’re so different that it’s easy to simply like each for what it is. They’re framed together, although it’s hard to tell, as I was trying not to get much reflection. I’m happy you like them as much as I do.

      janet

  11. tnkerr says:

    Really nice! Thanks

  12. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Hello Janet,
    that’s a fantastic collage, your daughter did a beautiful job!
    Hope your thunderstorms are getting better and that you can watch the Tour.
    Our weather is crazy, too – hot and humid and minutes later hail storm. The world is going crazy…
    Have a very HAPPY day 🙂

    • I got to see the Tour when they replayed it and the rain appears to be about over, at least for today. The flowers in my garden look fantastic. 🙂

      Happy Wednesday and rest of the week.

      janet

  13. Your daughter is very talented, and this is a very special collage. 🙂

  14. A talented young lady, Janet. I like the drawing and the collage.
    Ω

  15. WOW! Wonderful ink drawing and collage! She’s so talented!

  16. SoyBend says:

    Your daughter does beautiful work. You must be a proud Mom.

  17. The collage is beautiful. The scissorwork on the floorboards is absolutely marvellous. I’m sure the full-size work has other wonderful details. That said, I really love that ink drawing.

  18. Sharon Dear says:

    So much talent before art school! I would love to view her talents now. I like storms and just like cable, TV, They repeat but we can’t live without the rain.

  19. joey says:

    Oh that’s just darling! I’m a fan!
    I do collages, but not like THAT. Be sure to tell her we admire her work 🙂

  20. Ruth says:

    Your daughter did a great job with both media. Nice.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

