A Photo a Week: Birds…belted kingfisher

Posted: July 14, 2017 in Misc. Photo Challenges
Tags: , , , , , ,

Nancy, you’ve put up a challenge I can’t resist today: “Birds.”  Since you’ve posted a hummingbird shot, I won’t.  Instead, I’ll share a photo of a belted kingfisher that I took several years ago.  On my way back from watching some fishing birds, egrets and herons, I happened to look up.  There at the end of a bare branch surrounded by green was a bird.  I had my telephoto and snapped the picture with no idea what bird it was.  For some reason, I had an idea that a kingfisher was much larger, but this little guy looks as if he has enough attitude for any bird of any size.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. How wonderful that it stayed and let you make the photo! For years, and years I was on the trail of one trying to get it’s image. Finally I got several photographs of one, but it took years. They’re so skittish!

    Nice choice for the bird challenge Janet!

  2. Those kingfishers are feisty! I love to hear their rat-tat-tattling after they’ve plunged for a fish and then make their victory announcement! Your photo gave me a heart-warming smile!

    • I haven’t been lucky enough to see and hear that, but I can imagine how cool that is. This one’s a cheeky-looking little blighter!

      janet

      • It is an amazing and comforting experience… where I lived on the river, two different species of kingfishers gave daily performances… sometimes they perched in front of the deck and at times they perched on the railing… my favorite memory was when a little Mighty Mouse Kingfisher flew across to the far side, tormented a pelican at roost until the pelican chased it to its side of the river.. the kingfisher ducked into the dense growth, and the pelican returned to its side — but wait, the little kingfisher chased it back… then the pelican turned and chased it back… it was so funny to see the little bird teasing the big one!

      • I’ve seen little birds run off a hawk or other large bird. You just never know. 🙂

  3. SoyBend says:

    Nice shot of one of my favorite birds. One of the few songbirds where the female is more colorful.

  4. […] via A Photo a Week: Birds…belted kingfisher — This, that and the other thing […]

  5. You captured his attitude perfectly. Thanks for joining the challenge!

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Great photo, Janet. He looks like a rock star.

  7. Sue says:

    Oh, he’s lovely!

  8. What a handsome little guy you caught there. I’ve never seen one so appreciate the photo. 🙂

  9. DailyMusings says:

    what a wonderful bird! I saw one for the first time last year and now I can never mistake their call! Love this!

  10. Su Leslie says:

    Great photo of a lovely bird Janet

  11. joey says:

    He’s a cutie! 🙂

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

