Hérival Priory is now an artists’ colony, in a beautiful clearing in the forests of the Vosges.  Examples of their art are scattered around the complex. The monks would be surprised.  Or perhaps not.  After all, as Ecclesiastes 1:9 says, there’s nothing new under the (French) sun.

© janet m. webb

Sittin’ and thinkin’

© janet m. webb

Talking out of both sides of your mouth?

© janet m. webb

Frog spitting into a pond

© janet m. webb

One end of a pile of firewood

© janet m. webb

The other end

Comments
  1. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful place for an artists’ colony. I’d feel creative just being there. I didn’t know that the idea of there being nothing new under the sun came from the old Testament. To quote back at you – ‘you learn something new every day’ – I have no idea where the quote comes from though. 🙂

  2. Fantastic place and captures!

  3. viveka says:

    Janet, wired and wonderful .. in a very nice area of France. Never heard of … just like the pink sheep here in Skåne – also art … I neither did I know the qoute comes from the bible. Have a great weekend.

    • The Vosges area of France isn’t nearly as well-known as many others, such as Provence, Paris, Normandy, and Brittany. It’s also a poor area, but with so much to offer. We love that it isn’t over-run with people.

  4. Everything is so beautiful 😊,,,thanks for sharing it with us😊

  5. Su Leslie says:

    What a fun bunch of artworks!

  6. happyface313 says:

    🙂 This is so pretty and one notices the art more or less on second sight.
    Have a very HAPPY weekend, Jane! 🙂

  7. Love them all, but that first one allowed me to laugh out loud. There are some very talented artists there. 🙂

  8. Dan Antion says:

    My firewood pile is just plain boring by comparison

  9. Joyce says:

    I guess it is a case of one not seeing so much of what is in the art, but one seeing more of what the artist is into. 🙂

  10. JT Twissel says:

    You can find all kinds of magical things in clearings in the woods of France! How fun.

    • It was quite something to come across all of this, seemingly in the middle of nowhere, and in such a beautiful location. Who would have expected this? We were expecting a religious building! 🙂

      janet

  11. joey says:

    Quaint. I love how art is here and there, so personal and charming. Also, I think froggy fountains are by far my fave.

  12. Janet,
    These are fantastic installtions of art. I liked them all. I have a friend whose a copper sculptor and created a walking garden with his artwork sprinkled throughout his property. It would be a wondeful feeling to happen upon something that had a creative meaning on my property. My sculpture is my lake that straddles my rear property. As a cancer, I love water so I’ll take it.
    Super photographs …. as always. Happy Sunday … Blessings 🙏🏻
    Isadora 😎

    • Issy, there was a large property near us when we lived in Cleveland, owned by two artists. They had his work all around the property in a most tasteful, beautiful manner as well, I imagine, that of others. It was so interesting to see and must have been fun to enjoy daily.

      Glad you enjoyed the photos and I pray your Sunday is wonderful as well.

      • Generally, artists love to surround themselves with artwork of every kind. Large sculptures can be costly so they create their own or barter for some. It’s a fasicnating world to be a part of. I never tired during my 28 years. My home is filled with so many works of art with stories of both the artist who created them and my way acquisition of them. Our town had an artists home tour fund raiser once. Our home was part of the tour. People started telling others to leave our home for the end as there were so many pieces of art and stories. I was shocked people thought so highly of my home. And, thankful to be so blessed. Thank you for letting me take up so much of your comment space. 🙏🏻

  13. The spitting frog is delightful. What a neat place to discover and explore!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

