Friday flowers…It was a very good year.

Posted: September 8, 2017 in flowers
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You’ve seen how many flowers there are this year. All that rain helps, doesn’t it?  Let’s take a look at a few of them.  Look at that one standing all by itself. I think it’s fireweed.

copyright janet m. webb

I can’t ever decide which color I like the best, but yellow is one of my favorites.  What about you?  What’s your favorite flower color? This is Common Tansy/Golden Buttons/ Bitter Buttons/Cow Bitter/Garden Tansy (at least I think so.)  You can just say Tansy, although I like Golden Buttons.  There are so many by the first lake!

copyright janet m. webb

Yellow is so cheerful.

 copyright janet m webb

Comments
  1. JANE says:

    Janet, the Tansy is pretty… but isn’t it poisonous if consumed by livestock? Do you have to be concerned about your horse?

    • Jane, I just checked and you’re right, it is. I had no idea. Evidently it’s an invasive species, but the horses must not eat it. I’ll have to mention that to the caretaker. However, the horses will be down the mountain and in winter pasture soon, so they’ll likely be away from it.

  2. restlessjo says:

    There’s lots of the fireweed about, Janet. I did 7 of my favourite flowers this Summer during the week. Always astounded by the beauty of nature. 🙂 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. Suzanne says:

    Gorgeous. The yelloe is so vibrant.

  4. Leya says:

    I agree about yellow…but love them all. Our flowers went down in to many showers this summer. A sad story, because they help keeping me warm in winter times.

  5. scr4pl80 says:

    I love the look of the button flowers. So many interesting shapes and sizes of flowers everywhere. Yellow is one of my favorites too but also orange. Really like you last picture. Happy Friday Janet!

    • Happy Friday to you, too, other Janet. 🙂

      • scr4pl80 says:

        I like “other” Janet better than Janet 1 or Janet 2, don’t you? I went to a Catholic school for 8 years and all the way through there were 4 Janet’s and 1 Janice in my class. When I was in my 20’s I went by “Jan” but I really like my whole name better so I went back to using it. Ever shorten yours?

      • I went by “Jan” when I was in high school and college, but eventually I went back to “Janet.” My husband met me as “Jan” and still tends to call me that. I’ll answer to either. 🙂

      • scr4pl80 says:

        Me too. I have 3 sisters and all of our names start with a “J” so I’ve also been called Jo Anne, Judy or Jaye!

  6. Tina Schell says:

    LOVE that middle shot – really made me smile!!

  7. Nice photos, Janet. Did you rack a zoom lens in/out to get the pinhole effect? It is a great way to accentuate the subject and minimize the surrounding grasses.

  8. Indeed, beautiful flowers but each often has a special property and interesting to know about the tansies. Here in U.K. Ragwort is dangerous for horses and here in Spain we have lots of bracken which is supposed to be bad for the liver of most grazing animals.

  9. Su Leslie says:

    These are great images Janet. The tansy is particularly beautiful. Shame it’s dangerous to animals.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

