Focaccia.  Yum!  A few days ago, the recipe for a delicious-sounding focaccia  with a topping of caramelized onion, rosemary and olive popped up in my in-box.   It was from Shira’s blog: “in pursuit of more”: http://inpursuitofmore.com/2012/05/12/recipe-caramelized-onion-rosemary-olive-foccaccia-virtual-vegan-potluck-edition/, and from the comments, I’m not the only one who thought it sounded wonderful.  I commented that I’d made a delectable gluten-free focaccia for our supper club, since one of the members is gluten-intolerant .  The focaccia was so tasty that everyone asked for the recipe, even though those who weren’t gluten-intolerant.  Shira thought it sounded great and asked if I had the recipe posted somewhere.

The recipe comes from an excellent cookbook:  Gluten-Free Baking Classics, by Annalise G. Roberts.  I discovered it when our younger daughter was eating gluten-free and what hooked me first was the pasta!  I feel about gluten-free pasta as I do about vegan cheese…there isn’t any that’s good, although  I have to admit that Bionaturae makes a pretty good g-f pasta.  But Annalise’s recipe for homemade is fabulous (and I do NOT use that word often or loosely.)  Since it doesn’t have gluten, no kneading is necessary and it doesn’t have to rest.  Even if you don’t need to eat gluten-free, the pasta’s as easy to eat as it is to make, so give it a try.

I was so impressed with the pasta that I emailed Annalise to thank her and got a lovely note in return.  Since this recipe is in her cookbook, I emailed her again yesterday to ask for permission to post it and got an email back in record time, giving me the OK.  Here’s the link to her site, because the recipe is there:  http://mygluten-freetable.com/2011/08/gadgets-pesto-and-gluten-free-panini/.  Go to the site and browse, because I’m willing to bet that any recipes you find there will be wonderful.  Thanks for the permission, Annalise, and keep on cooking!  And since I’m sharing her recipe, here’s a picture from her site with a panini made with the focaccia.

Rustic Flat Bread  (focaccia)
Gluten-Free Baking Classics, Annalise G. Roberts

1 1/2 c. Bread Flour Mix A  (see end of recipe)
1 t. zanthan gum
1/2 t. salt
1 T. sugar
1 packet (1/4 oz.) dry quick-rise yeast
1 t. olive oil
3/4 c. plus 1 T. water, heated to 110 F
Olive oil
Fresh rosemary (depending what you want on top)
Sea salt (coarse works best)

1.  Spray an 8 or 9″ round cake pan with baking spray and lightly dust with rice flour or sprinkle with cornmeal.

2.  Mix all dry ingredients in large bowl of electric mixer (KitchenAid-type).  Pour warm water (110F) and olive oil into mixing bowl; mix until just blended.  Scrape bowl and beaters, then beat at high speed for 2 min.

3.  Spoon dough into prepared pan and spread out to the sides with a spatula.  Cover with a light cloth and let rise in a warm place (about 80 F) for about 40 min.  Bread should be about double in height.

4.  Place rack in lower third of oven.  Preheat to 400.

5.  Sprinkle olive oil over top and carefully spread it into a thin film over the entire surface of the bread (use your fingers to do this for best results).  Sprinkle with rosemary and sea salt (or other toppings of your choice).

6.  Bake 8″ bread for 20-25 min., 9″ for 15-210.  Bread should be medium golden in color and cooked through.  Remove from pan and cool on a rack for 15 min.  Slice and serve.

Bread Flour Mix A  (Bob’s Red Mill makes all these flours.)

2 c. (1/3) part millet flour
1 c. (1/6) part sorghum flour
1 c. (1/6) part cornstarch
1 c. (1/6) part potato starch  
1  c. (1/6) part tapioca flour
(6 c. total)

My notes:

If you don’t have a KitchenAid-type mixer, I  think you could use a regular mixer at high speed.  The dough should be smooth.

To make two, double the recipe.  I just made two separate but consecutive batches so they would be the same amount of dough, and then baked them together.

Possible toppings:  olives (I like kalamata), sautéed onion and/or peppers, fresh tomatoes, cheese, caramelized onions ala Shira!!

Comments
  1. […] For anyone interesting in the food side of this post, I’ve posted the gluten-free focaccia recipe (with permission) here: https://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/fabulous-focaccia-gluten-free-too/. […]