Cee’s Which Way Challenge Week 24…bridging the gap

Posted: June 10, 2015 in Cee's Photo Challenges, Travel
Tags: , , ,

This weekend my husband biked the 109-mile Michelson Trail in southwestern South Dakota (details and more photos coming up soon.)  Many Which Way photo ops abound during a ride of this sort, but I though this one representative.  The well-maintained trail goes through the Black Hills and in more than one place, a trestle is needed to bridge the gap.  Here’s one such trestle, well-built but not for anyone uncomfortable with heights although, as you can see, there’s a high railing on either side.

IMG_3953

Comments
  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Sounds like an exciting bike ride… 🙂

    Very well captured… 🙂

  2. billgncs says:

    did I ride over that ?

  3. nowathome says:

    It is quite high!!

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Janet, I like your caption to your photo this week. Wonderful entry. 🙂

  5. Vb holmes says:

    Great photo, Jan–not sure I’d like to cross the trestle on a bike, though.

    • Bill doesn’t remember crossing it, so I guess it wasn’t too scary…or else he was just tired and concentrating. 🙂 It was really more like a bridge than a trestle, with a solid path, so less intimidating.

      janet

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have selected your post to be featured on Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2015/06/17/cees-which-way-challenge-2015-week-24/
    I hope you are having a fabulous week!

    • Thanks, Cee. I am having a fabulous week and I appreciate being on of “the chosen.” Wow, that has a really creepy, horror movie sound to it, doesn’t it? 🙂

      janet

      • Cee Neuner says:

        You are to funny Janet 😀 I wanted to feature you on something other than odd balls, even though you have turned into the queen of odd balls. Thought I would let other people enjoy your talent

      • Awww, how nice of you, Cee. “Queen of Oddballs”, eh? I think some people might have called me that before, although not for the same reason. 🙂 But really, thanks. I appreciate it.

  7. julieallyn says:

    Road trip!!! Great photo.

    How ’bout that Janet? We were both selected this week!!

  8. Quite a bike ride! That trestle would make me nervous! 🙂

    • When I posted that photo, Bill said, “Did I go over that?” 🙂 The trail is relatively wide and the railings also quite high and when you’re concentrating on just riding, it must seem much less intimidating.

      janet

  9. sunsetdragon says:

    What a beautiful spot.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

