Not far from our cabin in Wyoming is Spear-O-Wigwam, listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Begun in 1923 as a dude ranch (a place for people to experience a “civilized” taste of the western lifestyle), it closed in that capacity in 2011, but happily recently reopened under local ownership. And it has a famous door… or at least a door used by a famous writer.

One of its log guest cabins is known as the “Hemingway Cabin”, where Ernest Hemingway stayed in 1928 with his wife Pauline while writing A Farewell to Arms. For a fascinating look at both the ranch’s history and the connection to Hemingway, click here.

But this IS a Thursday Door post, so I suppose you want to see the door…and of course there is one (otherwise how would “Papa” have gotten inside)?

Our cabin is home to a much humbler and not at all famous door, but one that was and will again be quite useful. This stove has been in the cabin for years, but the stove pipe had been removed. This year we had it reattached and a chimney pipe added on the outside, one designed to resist the pressure of any and all snow on the roof during those long Wyoming winters. Now on chilly spring nights or mornings in the Bighorns, we can enjoy a fire fueled by either wood or pellets. Ah, delightful!

for Thursday Doors

Comments
  1. beth says:

    oh, what an interesting place with fascinating history

  2. peggyjoan42 says:

    Interesting. That is one rustic door dude.

  3. Hope you had a wonderful trip.

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Great doors. I love the stove. I bet you’re hoping for a brief cold snap, so you can give it a try. I think you need to wrap up a few logs and a bottle of wine. Label it “In case of emergency” and sit it next to the stove.

    • It didn’t really get cold enough when I was there to give it a try, so it will have to wait until next summer. I like your emergency idea, although we’re careful about what we leave there during the winter if there’s any chance of it freezing. Not sure if wine would freeze if it got quite cold for a long period of time. No heat there during the winter.

  5. I love that stove, how wonderful to have a cabin in the woods. Great info on that link about Hemingway and where he stayed. I’ve been stuck for months on my WW1 book, maybe I should go stay where he slept and wrote his draft of Farewell to Arms, lol.

  6. marianallen says:

    Your heater looks very cozy! I love the gravel bed it sits on–practical and pretty. I’ve always been a fan of gravel, for some unknown reason.

    • Gotta have something underneath that won’t burn and will keep the heat and any escaping burning items off the cabin floor. 🙂 I didn’t get a chance to try the stove as the low temperatures only went into the 40’s. But earlier in the summer when my brother was there, he said it was 28 several mornings. That would be cold enough but it wasn’t ready to go then.

      janet

  7. That’s a very handsome stove, Janet. How interesting about Ernest Hemingway writing part of his iconic book in a cabin there.

    • He did get to all sorts of places, although most are more famous then Spear-O. I’m looking forward to trying the stove next summer, but if my brother goes up first, he can let me know how it is. 🙂

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Beautiful wooden door and that stove is right up my alley. Perfect spot to curl up with a good book in a comfy old chair, on a crisp autumn evening.

    • Indeed, although around the beginning of September is the end of the season here. Spring nights (June) can be quite chilly and if anyone ventured up there during the winter (via snow mobile most likely), they’d have to use the stove as the heat is turned off after the last of us leaves, which means it will be off tomorrow until next June sometime. 🙂

  9. Ally Bean says:

    Very interesting. I don’t know that I’ve ever been inside a cabin like this one.

  10. Teresa says:

    Nice cabin and it’s good to see a cabin of a famous person.

  11. Su Leslie says:

    Hope you had a fabulous time away.

  12. The stove looks neat, and I bet it makes it nice and toasty, and cozy on those chilly mornings. It’s good to see you’re back safely!

    • The stove will be wonderful when it’s chilly. I had a wonderful time as usual and it’s also good to be home, although I didn’t really need to come home to a record length of very high temperatures. 😦

  13. slfinnell says:

    Grew up with a wood stove and I miss the way it heats you through–unlike gas or electric heat.

  14. Debbie Smyth says:

    Looks a great place to stay, Janet. And the Hemingway connection is interesting – I didn’t know about his love for Wyoming. In Valencia I stead in a hotel he had stayed in and did a guided walk of places he visited. Now I have another reason to go to Wyoming! 🙂

  15. Sanchi_writes says:

    Please Check my blogs too❤️🙏