Google Translate tells me that “It’s time for tea” in Irish is “Am le haghaidh tae”, appropriate today as I’m featuring Irish breakfast tea. You might know there’s also English breakfast tea and Scottish breakfast tea, but what’s the difference? Here’s what the Republic of Tea site says about Irish Breakfast:

Irish breakfast tea also has a strong Assam component, giving it a robust, malty flavor and reddish color. It is stronger than English breakfast tea, but not quite as strong as the Scottish variety. Because of the important role of the dairy industry in Ireland, it is usually served with milk. However, some Irish tea drinkers choose to take their breakfast tea plain, or with sugar only.

Interestingly, in Ireland the term “breakfast tea” is often considered a misnomer. That’s because Irish breakfast tea is actually consumed throughout the day, with many Irish tea drinkers consuming between four and six cups per day!

I drink all my tea without milk and sugar (and all my tea is consumed throughout the day, or at least until about 3 pm if it has caffeine), but I have them if you choose one or the other or both. I hope we’re not running into any national conflicts though, as the cup and saucer are Aynsley English bone china, sourced from my favorite thrift store in Naperville a few years ago. 🙂

To stay true to the Irish theme, I baked soda bread and I have Kerry Gold Irish butter as well. But enough talking! It’s time for a cUPpa, so let’s eat, drink, and chat!

for Tea time with Su 1.14.21 and SquareUp 1.14.21

Comments
  1. Su Leslie says:

    I love soda bread, and yours looks delicious Janet. 🙂

  2. […] from This, That and the Other Thing has an Irish theme with Irish Breakfast tea AND home-made soda bread. […]

  3. restlessjo says:

    That is one beautiful cup, Janet! 🙂 🙂 I haven’t made it to Su’s yet. Still at the coffee and toast stage of my day.

    • I’m having a lazy morning today. Haven’t even walked yet, which I usually do at the break of dawn. I thought I’d go when it’s already light and see how that is. 🙂

  4. ladysighs says:

    There’s something about drinking tea.
    Coffee …. I can grab any old mug available aka not dirty.
    But tea takes a pretty cup and saucer and a seat at the dining room table. And someone special to drink it with.

    • I guess that means my husband and I are pretty special because I drink tea every day and there’s no one else around. 🙂 Some days I use a special cup, some days a special mug. Since I rarely drink coffee, that’s usually when I have company but we go to a coffee shop, so no special cups. 🙂 During non-Covid times, I would sometimes have a friend over for tea and then of course, special cups.

      • ladysighs says:

        It’s nice to have a little coffee routine during this covid time. We just heat up the left over morning coffee in the microwave. Our day is crazy because we are up around 3 AM and ready for lunch by 9 and coffee after.
        I see by my watch it’s time to yell at my husband to “Heat up the coffee.” lol

      • A coffee or tea routine is good for everyone. What do you do that you’re up so early?

      • ladysighs says:

        We try to be quiet in case the other is able to sleep a bit longer. It’s this horrible growing old curse I suppose. Laying or is it lying in bed doesn’t bring the comfort it used to.
        I make my way to the computer and read scary things. After breakfast I think my husband lands in his recliner and goes back to sleep.
        We are a bunch of fun. lol

      • Ah, age. I thought maybe you had some sort of job that required you to be up that early. 🙂

      • ladysighs says:

        Nope! I do feel for those that need to be up and about to do their job with the pandemic.

  5. I’m a coffee drinker versus tea, but tea cups always make me smile because they are so beautiful. This set is exceptional. I could drink water in that set and be happy. 🙂

    • Getting more teacups is something I have to try to stay away from. I gave away a few when we moved but still have all my favorites. I have some favorite mugs as well which I use for strong, black teas. It really does allow for the full taste of tea to come through if you drink it from a china cup.

  6. I’m with you – tea without milk and sugar … and thanks for the soda bread.

  7. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for the explanation, Janet. I always wondered if there was a difference. I’ve had both English and Irish but never close enough together to notice. I didn’t know there was a Scottish blend.

    The soda bread looks very good.

  8. Ally Bean says:

    I like milk in Irish Breakfast Tea, but not in English Breakfast Tea. I cannot say why that is. I am a complicated woman, I guess.

  9. I like both English, and Irish Breakfast teas. I need to try a Scottish one. I like both milk and or cream and sugar in my tea. I like my first cuppa with two teaspoons of sugar and the rest of the day one tsp or sometimes just milk. I drink tea all day. I’m one of those 4-6 cups a day gals.

  10. Is a thrift shop what we call an opp-shop an opportunity shop?
    Because that is where I like to shop and I also like my tea black.
    That bread looks so good my I mouth 😛is having an automatic reaction.😎

    • A secondhand shop, Jack, so I imagine it’s the same. I have to find a good one or two in our new place but not until Covid abates.

      I do love bread and it sounds like you do too. 😊 And your tea black. Good man.

      janet

  11. BeckyB says:

    Could be a storm in a teacup brewing with Irish tea in an English cup!

    A great SquareUP 😀

  12. marianallen says:

    Ooo, thank you! I’ll have sugar and cream, soda bread and butter, thank you! I have an assortment of pretty thrift-store tea cups and matching saucers. The girls loved to have tea out of them when they were little. 🙂

  13. Resa says:

    You always make tea time look so good.
    Lol! Think I’ll make a cup of coffee!

  14. I do like milk and ice cream in my Coffee and a dash of kahlua, then a sprinkle of chocolate, but with tea I’m easy pleased.😎