This week I’m trying a new challenge, the Phoneography Challenge, for photos taken with an iPhone. I don’t have an iPhone, but I do have, as Tom at The Palladian Traveler dubs it, an i-Thingy (aka iPad). I don’t have the little widget up yet for the challenge, but one thing-y at a time, yes? This week’s challenge is “(Almost) Portraiture.”

Hopefully, I’ll be doing this correctly. If you want to look at other almost-portraits, you’ll find the links here: Almost Portraiture.

So without further ado, here I go.

20130722-093112.jpg

The above photo was taken in our bathroom mirror and I love the effect of the smaller and smaller reflections. No editing on any of these photos as that’s something I unfortunately don’t really know how to do yet. πŸ™‚

20130722-093141.jpg

I love this one, taken at the wonderful Cleveland Museum of Art. I’m not a bit modern art fan, but I liked this one.

20130722-093206.jpg

Can’t remember anything interesting to tell you about this one. Sorry. Make up your own story.Β  πŸ™‚

20130722-093229.jpg

Hey, it’s part of my “self”!

20130722-093249.jpg

Another shot using the mirror.Β  I find that the option to switch the camera around in the iPad, to better take pictures of yourself, turns out pictures not as clear and sharp as the normal ones, so I was trying to use the regular camera while still being able to take my own picture.

(And in case pingbacks are being used:Β  http://lensandpensbysally.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/phoneography-challenge-almost-portraiture/).

Comments
  1. xpat92 says:

    Hi Janet,
    That first one is SO clever!! LOVE it! Hubby has a iPhone and he loves photographing with it .
    Have a cool day if you can πŸ™‚

    • I’ve always like when mirrors are set so you can see endless reflections so this, in my own small way, was trying to get that effect.

      As for cool, it’s not too bad now, but going to get close to 90 (and humid), so I’m heading back out to do some more bush trimming before it gets too bad. I’ll work indoors later.

      Enjoy your day!

      janet

  2. Alastair says:

    Excellent shots. That first one is very clever πŸ™‚

  3. I enjoyed your set of selfless: well done. You do not have to follow my lead as to the theme for the fourth and fifth (if there is one) Monday. Check at the bottom of my post and you’ll see how the schedule works. But I’m glad that you did the self-portraits–fun, fun, fun. Delighted to have you as part of the challenge. Happy Phoneography Monday.

    • Thanks for clarifying that. It said the 4th and 5th were the challenger’s choice and I figured you were the challenger and I the challengee. Just my grammar nazi self coming out. πŸ™‚ Glad to be a part of this as I love photography and love to learn from others.

      janet

  4. Great photos – the first one is perfect – what a magic effect :o)

  5. Leslie says:

    Hey pretty lady! πŸ™‚

  6. Nice series of self-portraitures. The caption for the 3rd frame could be, “Plug it in.”

  7. Allan G. Smorra says:

    I love the mirror photo. It reminds me of sitting in a barber’s chair as a kid and looking at the reflections in the mirrors in front of, and behind, me as they receded into smaller versions of themselves.

    • Sometimes you’ll still find mirrors like that in the rooms where you try on clothes at department stores. Not many, but so much fun when you find one.

      janet

  8. Helena Hann-Basquiat says:

    Imagine what Norman Rockwell would have done with this technology! (Sorry, darling, but the only self-portrait I could think of that uses mirrors is that famous Rockwell one that everyone spoofs).

  9. What a fun way to begin your phoneography I-Thingy Monday series! Great choices today. πŸ™‚
    Lisa

    • Thanks, Lisa. Since I take almost all pictures on my iPad these days, what’s not to like in this challenge? πŸ™‚ My blog started with almost all writing, which I really enjoy, and now I’m balancing between writing and photography, sometimes combining the two. Fun!

      janet

  10. the second one, I’ve seen that before and remarked that you have abstracted yourself. Now that I know you take the picture with that slab of an i-thingie, it gives greater meaning to the set of rotating blue squares. I like that πŸ™‚

  11. Woolly Muses says:

    I like the idea of using your iPad and your pics. I don’t use a phone camera much and have limited shots to show, so often wonder should I participate. However, there have been a couple of recent posts which contained DSLR almost portraits.

    • My phone is still a “dumb” phone and, although it has a camera, that pictures aren’t that great. I didn’t realize the challenge on the fourth and fifth Mondays was our choice; I thought it was the choice of the person/people who post the challenge. Silly me. Glad you participated and thanks for stopping by.

      janet

  12. Nice to be able to put a face to the name at last! Love your playful portraits, they really give some good insight into your free spirited personality. πŸ™‚