Weekly Photo Challenge: Time of Year…Never without these

Posted: November 25, 2016 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

Our challenge this week is to show one thing without which our holiday seasons could never be complete.  Whether Thanksgiving or Christmas, as a Christian, my holidays depend on God.  But I don’t have a really good shot of Him, so I have to go with something else.  I thought of food, snow (for Christmas), decorations (also for Christmas), presents, and a variety of other possibilities.  I tried to come up with something “different.”  But the truth is, any holiday without my family wouldn’t be the same.  This is a photo of a photo, from “back in the day” before digital photography, before our girls were women, and when we were all much younger.  It may not be unique, but it speaks to my heart.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. Family is what it is all about, no mater when. Perfect choice.

  2. Sandra says:

    Lovely pic, Janet. Superb! Hope you’re having a lovely holiday.

    • Thanks very much, Sandra. Had a good Thanksgiving and still have a bit over a day before heading home. I’m ready to start with my Christmas decorations. I absolutely love Christmas!

      janet

  3. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Cute picture, dear Janet!
    Spending time with the family is what the Holidays are all about.
    Same thing here.
    Have a very HAPPY weekend 🙂

  4. usarmywise20 says:

    Beautiful throwback picture!

  5. That photo from back in the day speaks volumes. 🙂

  6. Family does make the holidays wonderful 🙂 Lovely pic.

  7. […] This, that and the other thing Weekly Photo Challenge: Time of Year…Never without these […]

  8. bythebriny says:

    Beautiful family photo, full of memories I bet.

  9. Wow. Look at you and Bill. That’s wonderful. Happy….Happy.
    Randy

  10. Dan Antion says:

    You don’t have anything without family.

  11. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely photo; and perfect for the challenge.

  12. Anita says:

    Lovely photo, Janet, and a lovely sentiment for the season.

  13. viveka says:

    Janet, this really took a grip around my old heart … and soul. Lovely, truly lovely. I have never had a close family as such and even if I’m not a Christmas fan … I have felt some longing at every Christmas, maybe that is why I don’t like Christmas .. envy maybe.

  14. Indira says:

    Beautiful. Nice take.

  15. Happy Thanksgiving. It’s a beautiful picture and you all look very happy.

  16. prior.. says:

    I agree with carol – and you – family is what it is all about.
    Even though we tend to spend the holidays with different family each year….
    Hm
    Oh and not surprised to see the horses – I think of you wth horses 🐴

  17. nowathome says:

    Family is everything!!

  18. They perfect choice, Janet. Lovely family.
    Izzy 😎

  19. […] This, that and the other thing – mostly because I liked the “snow” falling across the page […]

  20. dweezer19 says:

    What a sweet treasure. I feel the same way about family.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

