Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Black and White…leaf or jawbone?

Posted: March 20, 2017 in Phoneography Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

How can it already by the third Monday of March?  It’s truly March Madness* and not the basketball sort!  However, the third Monday means it time to go retro with a black and white photo and here’s my choice for this week. I hope you enjoy it.

This may be my last post for a while, as I head for California tomorrow morning for a visit with our older daughter.  A short trip to Yosemite is in the plans, weather willing, and I’m taking my Nikon as well as my iPhone.  I’m quite sure you’ll see some of whatever I see during the trip at some time in the not-to-distant future.  🙂  I’m very excited about that trip, as I haven’t been to Yosemite since I was a child, more than a few years ago, and I’ve never been there at this time of year.

Until then, keep well.  I’ll miss you! (I’ll respond to any comments, just not post or read other posts.)

© janet m. webb 2017

*For those of you not from the US, March Madness is what they call the men’s college basketball tournament that determines the national champion.  It runs for a good part of March all over the US.

 

Comments
  1. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Good morning from sunny Vienna!
    At first I thought it was a jaw bone, but now, I think it looks like a palm tree or something alike.
    Have a safe journey and a great time in California and HAPPY moments with your daughter.
    Big hug from the distance 🙂

    • Your second guess is right. It’s a palm leaf still on the tree. Thanks for the hug. I’m sure the trip will be great and I’m looking forward to the sun and warmth, but seeing her most of all.

      janet

  2. Have a wonderful trip!🌞

  3. Cool picture, Janet. What is it? Looks like part of a plant of some sort. Have fun on your trip!

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Enjoy your trip. I haven’t been to Yosemite for almost 40 years, so I’m looking forward to some pictures, hint, hint

    • You know there will be photos, Dan, unless the weather is completely terrible, i.e. driving rain. I’m looking forward to the trip as well and I’m always happy to share.

      janet

  5. Janet, now is a perfect time to visit Yosemite, which is a national treasure that I revere. It is a place of unparalleled beauty and majesty. The waterfalls will be spectacular with all the snow this year. Will await your interpretation. Enjoyed your abstract image. Happy Photo Challenge.

  6. Nice photo, Janet. Safe travels and stay dry.
    Ω

  7. Angeline M says:

    Great photo of the palm leaf! The perspective is great.
    Have fun with your daughter. You know we’re expecting rain this week, but I’m sure that will not stop good times and some great photography. Happy travels!

    • I know about the rain. If it rains while we’re in Yosemite, it might be a problem, but we’ll just have to see what happens. We’ll have fun, no matter what we do, but I really do want to see Yosemite under decent conditions.

      janet

  8. Su Leslie says:

    I hope you have a fabulous time Janet. Sounds like a lovely trip.

  9. bythebriny says:

    Looks almost architectural, but I’m guessing it’s some sort of plant. Have a great trip!

  10. joey says:

    Enjoy your trip! 😀

  11. Have a wonderful and safe trip! I’m looking forward to your seeing your images!

    I’m so bummed that I can’t meet you in Yosemite!

    • I know. Me too! Hoping for good weather.

      janet

      • Thurs. is supposed to be partly cloudy, the Friday -weekend rainy.
        That can change. It’s weather!
        On the brightside; You could see a rainbow over the valley at Tunnel View! Maybe a double rainbow on Friday if there’s rain and a break in it.
        Here’s what I mean.
        I shot this one day before my birthday in 2010https://www.flickr.com/photos/dmzajac2004/4638816267/in/photolist-eciAtp-84V9sP

        Don’t let any rain spoil your parade! 🙂

  12. You will get some snow in Yosimite. Hope you get up there. Welcome to Calif.
    nice Black and white.

  13. Save travels, bon voyage, and have fun! I can’t wait to see and hear all about your adventures. 🙂

  14. Jane Lurie says:

    Nice photo, Janet. Have a wonderful time in Yosemite, one of my favorite parks. The waterfalls should be fantastic now. Enjoy!

  15. We got back this past Sunday after a week in Los Angeles. Loved it. I want to go back. We figured out the traffic patterns and hit very little traffic while there. And there’s so much to see. Hope you enjoyed/ are enjoying your vacation!

  16. galeweithers says:

    Glad you are having a great time; well deserved I’m sure!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

