Bon jour!  I’m back from another excellent trip to France, where I was treated royally as always by my s-i-l and b-i-l.  During the trip, my b-i-l, who’s been doing ultra marathons (any race longer than a traditional marathon of 26 miles or 42.195 kilometers) did something a bit different: a vertical kilometer.  Taking place on a very steep ski run, the contestants “ran” to the top and took the lift down, repeating this a total of three times.  Final time was the total of the three uphill segments.  It was grueling!

The morning was cold and foggy, although the fog eventually burned off and the sun arrived.  Fortunately for the participants, it didn’t get hot, at least from a weather point of view.  I took this shot at the beginning of the race.  My b-i-l is on the left, an unknown runner on the right.  The black and white called for on the third Monday of Sally’s Mobile Photography Challenge seemed just right for both the foggy morning and the difficulty of the competition.

© janet m. webb

Comments
  1. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Dear Janet,
    welcome back! Seems like you’ve had a wonderful trip.
    Great B&W picture, looks like it’s from another era.
    Have a very HAPPY week 🙂

  2. Su Leslie says:

    So glad you had a great trip; welcome back. The vertical km sounds crazy. I’ve been congratulating myself on managing a 6km walk.

  3. Lignum Draco says:

    I’m exhausted just looking at that photo. At least they could take lift down. 🙂

    This is not what I expected to see from the title, Janet. I was thinking le tour eiffel in b/w or some Parisien cafe scene. 🙂

    • Sorry to disappoint you, Lignum. 🙂 I was in rural/small town France and as always, it was great. Very different from Paris, that’s for sure. My b-i-l is doing 50, 65, and 100k races as well as this little gem. Not my thing. I’m a sprinter!

  4. Bienvenue!

    This image has a timeless, and editorial quality about it. Well done.

    What a workout, and achievement for your b-i-l!

    • Yes, both he and my s-i-l are running long distances and are in great shape. Glad you liked the image. I just heard from my s-i-l that the other man in the shot just won a recent race. 🙂

      janet

  5. Janet, welcome back from a memorable adventure. Your image is a classic with the juxtaposition of the two different participants, expressions and body language. Well done, and the conversion makes it even more striking. Happy Photo Challenge.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Welcome back, Janet. I guess there’s no hope of explaining how a ski lift is supposed to work 🙂 That sounds like such an awful thing to do. Fortunately, I don’t have enough experience to even imagine the pain. Great photo!

    • A few of us did ride the lift in the correct manner. I then waited until my b-i-l finished and rode down with him. The view from the top was spectacular and going down was the only time he could appreciate it!! For someone who’s thinks a 200m is a distance race, it’s unimaginable to me as well.

  7. Amy says:

    So glad you had a beautiful trip, and enjoyed as you always do, Janet.

  8. joey says:

    Ah, bienvenue a retours!
    That does capture the expression I would have as well, although mine might be on a crawling body 😉

  9. Angeline M says:

    A fantastic photo, made excellent by using black and white. Wow!

  10. Nice to be back? For me, running to the front door when somebody knocks would be grueling. This marathon would probably kill me.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

