Friday flowers…wild iris

Posted: May 28, 2021 in Cee's Photo Challenges, flowers
Tags: , , , , , , ,

While walking one of the back paths of the park, I glanced towards the river to see three high, thick clumps of yellow irises. I waded through deep grass, over downed branches, around bushes, and then across what felt not like quicksand but quick mud. I could see where deer hooves had sunk in and my shoes were rimmed with mud when I reached the flowers but it was well worth it. I don’t know if they were wild or if someone for some reason went all that way to plant them but it was a stunning surprise especially with the sun behind them.

also for Cee’s FOTD

Comments
  1. Kelly MacKay says:

    Oh pretty well worth the muddied shoe. Thanks for sharing

  2. Thanks for going to the trouble!

  3. JT Twissel says:

    Love it – you have an artist’s eye!

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful choice for today 😀

  5. restlessjo says:

    I’ve seen this growing in swampy riverside bits in the UK too 🙂 🙂 Very pretty!

  6. Ju-Lyn says:

    Oh my goodness, such a stunning shot! Hope the mud wasn’t too hard to clean off!!!!

    • Fortunately the mud was just around the upper edges of the soles and didn’t get onto the rest of the shoes. It dried off fairly well later. 🙂

      janet

  7. Oh yes, the backlight is gorgeous. Nicely seen and shown, Janet!