What do people say about you?

Posted: September 5, 2015 in Just for fun, Personal
Tags: , , , , ,

For some reason, the other day I thought of two comments I’ve remembered through the years.  When I was in college, a friend of mine told me that he could always tell it was me in the distance because “You walk like you’re trying to get somewhere.”  Even now, people at work, all younger than I, have said that I “zoom around”, “have more energy than any of us”, or words to that effect.  I consider that a win against age.  🙂

The second comment came when I was living and working in Steamboat Springs, Colorado right after graduation from college.  I played softball on an excellent women’s team, but in one preseason, I played on a men’s team.  (The team wanted me to play for them during the season, but the league refused, saying that men might want to play on the women’s teams.  I didn’t think that likely, but who knows.)  At any rate, one of the men said to me, “You’re not a jock, you’re an athlete.”  “Jock” applied to a woman, tends to have a somewhat negative connotation, whereas “athlete” does not.

Which two comments about you come to mind as comments you like or treasure?  (Only G-rated, please.)  🙂  I’d love to have you share them in the comment section.  Please join in or it’s no fun.

P.S.  On the humorous side, during that preseason, I slid into third base, knocking the (male) third basemen on his derriere.  When my brother was visiting, the man was on the lift in front of us.  We’d been talking about softball when he yelled at my brother that during a game, “Your sister knocked my on my butt.”   He took great pleasure in that and honestly, so did I!  🙂  OK, your turn.

Comments
  1. Those are lovely (and interesting) comments to remember 🙂 I can’t think of any memorable comments from my life to be honest, just moments 🙂

  2. I had a crush on a boy once and he said: “you are a girl, but you are like a bro and my best buddy”…. oh maaaaan :o(

  3. Sandra says:

    I complimented a friend on her appearance the other week, and she seemed quite extraordinarily flattered. Then she stunned me by saying “I appreciate that from you, because I know you say what you mean, and you mean what you say.” I’ve given a great deal of thought to that statement since then.

  4. Some friends told me I am beautiful the way I am. It sounds like a cliché but it brings peace and joy to the heart! They also told I am inspiring… *heart explosion*

  5. Someone once called me a free spirit, very casually, which I still remember and which I took as a compliment… I sometimes wonder if I still am..?!

  6. Leya says:

    Everybody has of course some comments they will remember and treasure. For me, the greatest comments are those from my students over the years. I always cry when reading their evaluation papers handed in on the last lesson of the term. So many positive young people – a reason to why I love my profession as a teacher. “What was the best thing about this subject/course?” is often given the answer : “The teacher” or “You”, followed by reasons like: “You really See us as the different personalities we are” or “You know how to vary the lessons so we never get tired…”
    I guess the most recent, unforgettable comment, came last week (when I watched him riding as a knight in his team, now a young man of 21) from a student who graduated 2013 : “You will always be my role model” – and he means it. A tear is coming even now when I write this.

    • Leya, such wonderful compliments! Having been a teacher and then home schooling our girls through high school, I know just how much those sorts of remarks are treasured, as they should be. Congratulations to you! Your students are blessed.

      janet

      • Leya says:

        Thank you, Janet. I guess all this has got something to do with encouraging young people being easier than with us grown-ups. Some people just cannot let go of prestige or letting their guard down…I don’t know – what do you think?

      • I think most young people, despite an attitude they may have, want to have others believe in them, encourage them, think well of them. Adults probably do as well, but as you say, they often have more barricades, I think.

        janet

      • Leya says:

        Unless they have worked with young people…I think!

      • Hopefully but not always. Such good conversations coming from this post, Leya. I wasn’t sure if anyone would chime in, but it’s been great so far. Thanks for being part of that.

      • Leya says:

        A very good idea is well rewarded –

  7. tobyo says:

    This one’s from my junior year in Madrid, eons ago, but it’s stayed with me all these years. I was studying with a friend late into the night and he walked me to the metro station when we were done. I must have been concerned about returning safely to my place but my friend said “don’t worry. the way you walk says “don’t mess with me!!” 🙂 I did make it safely home and that comment makes me smile every time I think of it.

  8. Madhu says:

    Ha, you sound like my sister – nine years my senior – who’s always ‘zooming’ around : -)

    My most cherished comment is from a client – the project manager of a global software company – when i was working for a design firm. She was going to be travelling abroad in the middle of a project and when asked how to go about approving flooring samples while she was away, she turned to my boss and said “I am fine with whatever Madhu decides!”. She knew my boss placed his schedule over all else and that my OCD would never let me compromise the integrity of my design 🙂 We worked crazy hours those days, but comments like these made it all so worthwhile.

  9. Maggie C says:

    The first thing that comes to mind for me was a comment made by a barista at a drive-through that I frequent. I only knew her from our brief encounters there, but she always was cheerful and friendly. One time, she was not working the window, but was making the drinks in the background. She made a point of greeting me, and then turned back to her work and said — to no one in particular — “I like her.” No qualifier (“She’s nice… funny… friendly…”). It made me feel valued, just for being me.

    • Very cool thing to hear, Maggie. I always try to be friendly to workers, too, but how wonderful to get such a response, especially just overheard and not in the quest for a big tip.

      janet

  10. lifelessons says:

    At my 45th high school reunion, a boy I’d known but hadn’t seen for almost that many years said, “Whenever there was discussion, my brothers and I always were anxious to hear what you would say. We always said there were three ways to think in any situation: the right way, the wrong way and Judy’s way! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/05/crushed/

  11. dyule2014 says:

    Thank you for your interesting subject

  12. lexklein says:

    My favorite thing I’ve heard about myself was when my kids were very young (preschool or elementary age). Another child told one of my kids that I was “the smiling mom” and I’ve always loved thinking that I looked happy to all those other kids. (And by the way, I used to play softball for a men’s team also! And I zoom. :))

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

