Saying good-bye to Yosemite

Posted: April 11, 2017 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

Our plan was to take a last-morning, long hike.  But with about 12+ hours of pouring rain, the conditions, although sunny, were less than stellar.  On the trail, any non-mucky surface would be slick rock and every tree or bush a dosing of water waiting to happy.  oI’ve been horseback riding in those conditions and a heavy-duty slicker is a must if you don’t want to send up soaked and shivering.  We didn’t have slickers, so after a leisurely early morning, we packed up and started to leave.

I say “started” because the beauty we saw that morning made me say/yell “Pull over whenever you can” at almost every turnout.  The clouds were hanging low, new snow dusted peaks, and the air was crisp.  What a farewell to a most gorgeous place!

© janet m. webb 2017

© janet m. webb 2017

Our last view of El Capitan…

© janet m. webb 2017

Our last view of the park…

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. thanks for sharing this wonderful photos… I always planned to see this place, but I have some doubts that this will happen ;o) …but on the other hand… never say never right?

  2. Great photos. Makes me want to add to bucket list 😉

  3. Zy says:

    this is really beautiful, I hope one day

  4. Janet, I’ve see you post many beautiful photos, but the first photo here is absolutely beautiful. I’d want that one in a frame on the wall where I could see it every day. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  5. I love the mist and low cloud in the mountains and you have captured it beautifully Janet ☺💖 xxx

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    Wow – the clouds are gorgeous! What a perfect farewell indeed! The composition of the first photo is my favourite. Love that ribbon of mist hugging the mountain.

  7. Dan Antion says:

    These are wonderful photos, Janet. You’re inspiring me to plan a visit to this park again.

  8. de Wets Wild says:

    It must have been dreadful to say goodbye to so much beauty, Janet!

    • It was in a way, but it would have been much worse had it been cloudy and rainy, leaving us with only the first afternoon’s beauty. Yes, it’s still great in the rain, but not like this! I’d love to go back again, of course, but I feel blessed to have been able to go when I was actually just expecting ten days in Pasadena. 🙂

  9. OH!!! Those low clouds really added to the beauty and mystery of the area! Those peaks!!! I love them. What a glorious morning you had!

    I hope it’s not Good-bye, just À bientòt! 🙂

  10. Lindy Le Coq says:

    That first photo is stellar!!

    • Thanks, Lindy. That’s my favorite, too, and I have another one that’s on the horizontal as well as a couple still on the memory card of my Nikon. I took duplicates of the really great shots so that if I wanted to enlarge them, they’d enlarge better (at least I imagine the Nikon will be better for that.)

      janet

  11. These parting shots are beautiful, Janet. Especially the one of El Capitan.
    Ω

  12. marianallen says:

    Such beauty! Our #2 Daughter spent several summers as an intern at a park in California, and she loved to hike Yosemite.

  13. what a lovely place. would love to see it one day

  14. Stunning photos. The light is amazing. I know what you mean and having to pull over all the time. It is hard driving sometimes

    • Although I love driving, it can take time when there are so many places to stop. The best part was that my daughter was driving, so I could keep telling her to pull over and I could look around. 🙂

      janet

  15. Su Leslie says:

    Janet these are stunning. I can totally imagine you wanting to stop often. The boy-child and I had the same experience driving the Desert Road as the sun rose a couple of weeks ago.

  16. bythebriny says:

    Ooh, gorgeous shots! Glad you were able to take advantage, even without the hike.

  17. Norm 2.0 says:

    Gorgeous shots. I would so love to go back there with my grown-up camera someday. Sigh…😃

  18. joey says:

    Completely majestic! Wonderful photos, Janet.

  19. Every picture a stunner. I have never been but now want to visit more than ever!

  20. Suzanne says:

    What a magnificent place. I have read about the grandeur of the American wilderness and seen the early photos and paintings it inspired. Somehow those old images always seemed a bit unreal to me – like something out of the past that doesn’t really exist in this day and age. Seeing these wonderful photos I am totally gobsmacked. It feels like these photos have opened my heart more to the beauty of nature. I’m sorry I missed your posts the first time around. It must have been when I was busy with some family drama (they came thick and fast in early April.)

    • Don’t worry, Suzanne. There are so many posts that it’s difficult to keep up with all of them. I’m glad you enjoyed these so much. The American west is full of diverse places that are filled with beauty.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

