Thursday doors…all calorie-free

Posted: December 12, 2019 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s Thursday once more. Am I the only one who feels as though the days are flying by? The good news is that I have all the Christmas decorating done, so my husband and I can enjoy it. The tree is in the garage until our younger daughter gets home this weekend and then she and my husband will decorate that.

On Saturday, I went to an open house at á la folie, a French pastry shop in Naperville. I enjoyed tasting their samples and then ordered a Buche de Noel to celebrate our last Christmas here. That got me thinking about France, so I pulled up three more doors from Luxeuil-les-Bains. They’re tasty in their own ways and also completely calorie-free.

Norm, our a-door-able chef in Montreal, opens the pastry shop doors each week for treats from all over the world. Drop by, taste, and enjoy!

Comments
  1. Love the face and hands, definitely not your typical door. 🙂

    • I wonder what will be taped up next? I’ll have to check next time I’m there to see whether this is still there, deteriorating, or if there’s something next. 🙂

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That last door looks a little sad. Maybe someone will offer it some TLC for Christmas or during the new year.

    • There are lots of doors like that in France. Somehow they don’t look as sad there, where buildings are so old. But it would look quite nice if spiffed up a bit.

  3. marianallen says:

    Yes, that “Buddha and the babe” door is definitely a visual koan. 🙂

  4. These are all very unique, Janet. The first one is a definitely go-back-and-see door.
    Izzy 😎

  5. Junieper2 says:

    Unusual door – am not sure if it’s trying to beg for money, or…? But counting calories is what I don’t do for Christmas:)

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    These all have their own unique charms – nice finds.
    As for the chef, he has actually already started his Christmas baking for this year. I guess I’m finding the Christmas spirit a bit earlier than usual 😉

  7. The first one is quite unique, Janet. The last one is my favourite even in its somewhat dilapidated state.

  8. Been reading you for years and didn’t know there was a husband, or a daughter.
    Probably just me not paying attention.
    Glad you have family.

  9. Great doors, Janet. After viewing two posts with gingerbread doors it’s nice to see tasty but calorie free ones, lol.

  10. Three very different doors and each with their own charm. My favorite is the last one!

  11. Prior... says:

    Janet – they are tasty doors – and I agree – the days are going fast – also – it is fun tracking the progress of your move – so this is the last xmas there… countdown is closer

  12. slfinnell says:

    Enjoyed your door selections. 🙂 Definitely enjoy your holidays! The less stress the better!

  13. joey says:

    Lovely blue door is lovely.
    Enjoy your Buche de Noel! 😀 Baking starts tonight here and I am HYPED!