Sally D’ Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature…mountaintop experience

Posted: September 5, 2016 in Phoneography Challenge, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Welcome to September!  Summer has flown by, but I was blessed to be able to take two wonderful vacations, to France and to Wyoming.  When in Wyoming, I’m always in the mountains. The Bighorns are close to my heart, filling a soul need for me every year. On one of our drives in France, we drove into the mountains…and suddenly, I felt as though I were in the Alps.  It was cool, cloudy, and windy, bells rang from the necks of cattle, and my heart soared, bringing a smile of pure joy to my face.  Nature at its very best, at least for me!

© janet m. webb

Treh Markstein, The Voges Mountains, France

© janet m. webb

Bighorn Mountains near Sheridan, Wyoming

Comments
  1. prior.. says:

    How nice to see the mountains side by side…. the purple in the France photo is my favorite takeaway 🙂

  2. Wow look at those mountains and those views, big open country, beautiful!

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Such beautiful country.

  4. Janet, you had a truly marvelous set of trips. Both vistas show the sweeping beauty of Mother Nature. Both inspire. Happy Photo Challenge.

  5. novecouch says:

    Wow what a nice country 😍😍..

  6. Angeline M says:

    I love these two photos together! Mountains have a certain pull on the soul, that’s for sure.

  7. Beautiful vistas this week, Janet.
    Ω

  8. I had never thought of going to France until we had a student from France and got a totally new view of the country and countryside from her.
    She left yesterday and now I see your images and I’m hooked.
    PS Do you read the Longmire Books or see the TV Show all about Wyoming and Montana? Totally addictive

    • We binge-watched the four seasons of the TV show and are waiting for the new (and last, probably) season with great anticipation. My husband is reading the books. Some time ago, I started one and for some reason, didn’t enjoy it. May have to try again. Johnson lives in Buffalo, WY, about 30 miles from where we go each summer and they have Longmire Days there. Could be fun to go to those.

      • Some friends and I are eagerly waiting for the next season to start. There has been talk of going to Longmire days too. It’s really far from CALIFORNIA.
        Try the books again some time maybe his short stories.
        Just checked Sept 23 new season starts. Yea!

  9. Absolutely breath-taking vistas. They’re so beautiful, you could easily mistake them for an idealized painting. I’d love to see them both printed out huge!

  10. Interesting that the main difference between your images is the color of the sun. That could be simply the difference between the hours of the day or your processing. Either way, it emphasizes to me that, though I’d rather be in the mountains of France, Wyoming will do! 🙂

    • Not much processing, Emilio, but the time of day was different and probably the direction, too. I’d prefer to get to both every year, but if not, Wyoming has been my go-to since the mid-70’s and I love it there.

      janet

  11. Both images. I love the purple hues in the first image

  12. Such lovely landscapes, Janet. This must have been an unforgettable summer for you. 🙂

  13. Beautiful mountains, both of them.

  14. Vinny Idol says:

    Man, those mountains look majestic. I miss that view. My mom used to have a house on 11 acres when I was a kid. Too bad I prefer the beach now.lol Thanks for sharing.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

