Thursday Doors…Philadelphia variety pack

Posted: November 10, 2016 in Thursday doors
Tags: , , , ,

Today I have a little something for everyone who loves doors.

One door, two door,
red door, church door,
single door, double door,
panel door, barred door,
new doors, old doors,
painted doors, shabby doors.
This one has a lot of wood.
Each of them looks really good.
All of them were found in Philly.
OK, now I will not be silly.

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

© janet m. webb 2016

For all of you who like history, this door is part of St. Clement’s Church, an Anglo-Catholic church with an interesting and complicated history of Catholic vs. anti-Catholic feelings and leanings.  It was finally opened for services on the first Sunday in January 1859 and today Wikipedia says about it:

Today, as its parish neighborhood is revitalized and new, young singles, students and families settle nearby, St. Clement’s continues as an inclusive community rooted in the Anglo-Catholic tradition. The church still emphasizes the Episcopal Church’s continuity with Catholicism prior to the English Reformation. St. Clement’s therefore offers lavish worship and music with full Catholic ceremonial, including incense, bells, processions, chanting, and a professional choir. Mass is celebrated daily using the English Missal and the poetic English of the King James Bible, enhanced on Sundays and major feasts with classical music.

Whatever your religious leanings, we can all come together in liking the doors.  🙂

© janet m. webb 2016

I promised Allan from Ohm Sweet Ohm that I’d include a photo with more detail from one of last week’s peacock doors.  I didn’t forget, Allan.

© janet m. webb 2016

Comments
  1. GeorgieMoon says:

    These doors are great, I like the first red one. And a great little poem for a Thursday!

  2. I love the contrast of 2034 and 2036 side by side, great comparison, I wonder if each neighbour wishes the other would paint/remove paint from their door!

  3. And quoth the maiden, ” Never door”.

    Hate that sickly yellow-green door,
    love the peacocks, that;s for sure.
    And in an energetic lurch,
    I’d go through those doors at church.

    And now, my friend, with much galore,
    I say, this is a case of “Shet d’door.”

    Randy

  4. bikerchick57 says:

    I know someone who would LOVE the peacock doors. I’ll have to show this to her. I love the first door, but more so how the owner outlined the door and windows with the red paint. It’s striking!

    • There are so many great doors there, Mary, that’s it’s difficult to walk. 🙂 I like the look of the red doors and windows, too. The peacock doors are in a completely different league.

      janet

  5. joey says:

    I do so recall those peacocks! I thought the first door was stunning, all that contrast! I quickly realized they were all fantastic. The details on the church doors are incredible, and I appreciate learning its interesting history and unusual use today. What a rarity it must be!

    • Good morning, Joey. I hope you’re feeling much better today, but just in case you’re not, I’m sending more OJ and some wellness teas (and more hugs, of course.) I’m glad you liked all the doors and the church really does have a fascinating history. Happy Thursday!

      janet

      • joey says:

        I AM feeling better. I am planning to return to work today. I might not be at my best, but I feel I can get things done, thanks! 🙂
        Happy Thursday to you, too.

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    I liked your little ditty and you’ve proven that Philadelphia has a treasure trove of doors to offer. Although they are all wonderful in different ways, my eye keeps going back to the green/yellow door. That’s a statement!!

    • My inner Dr. Seuss comes out every so often and I’ve learned to just have fun with it, Joanne. 🙂 It’s difficult to choose and it’s interesting to see which one people seem to like best. Hope you have a great day.

      janet

  7. I love that first door and surrounding windows – so unusual. I bet lots of light gets into that building. All the doors are beautiful but I do love those big old St. Clement’s doors you posted, Janet.

    • It’s hard to beat either lots of light or great church doors, Jean. Thanks for dropping in. I’m just getting ready to head off to work, so I won’t get to see any other doors until I get home quite late, as I have praise team practice after work. How will I wait??? 🙂

  8. I meant to say, I enjoyed the bit of verse, too. 🙂

  9. Norm 2.0 says:

    Funny how several contributors seem to be feeling poetic today 🙂
    That first one is a true thing of beauty and the hardware on that St. Clements door is wonderful.

  10. 🙂 Loved the poem, and that top door with that lovely red framing! Those Peacock doors though are my favorite!

  11. belocchio says:

    Even the simplest of doors tell a story. Then we have these magnificent portals to another world. Our imagination runs wild with anticipation. We desire to open these wonderful doors. We have the keys. XX Virginia

  12. Cee Neuner says:

    Wonderful doors Janet. I adore the peacock doors. Love your gallery.

  13. Allan G. Smorra says:

    Thanks for the detail of the peacock doors, Janet. They are gorgeous.

    I like your poem today. It is a bit “unhinged” and fits today’s topic.
    Ω

  14. jesh stg says:

    Beautiful doors, Janet! And great to discover your rhyming and poetry aptitude:):) After the first part of this week, it’s good to be silly and just relax:)

  15. dimlamp says:

    My fave is your first photo, what a rich hue of red that door displays, and it compliments the wooden door with the metal hinges.

  16. Candy says:

    These are great! I love the knocker on the black door.

  17. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have selected this post to be featured on Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge.

    Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Roofs


    I sure hope you enjoy your week.

  18. Mick Talbot says:

    There al good, but those peacock doors, amazing! Congratulations, for having your post selected by Cee to feature in her Fhoto Fun Challenge “Entrances and Doors”, well done!

  19. Where were those peacock doors?!