Weekly Photo Challenge: Earth..Yosemite with clouds

Posted: April 19, 2017 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , ,

Happy Wednesday!  Spring has arrived in northern Illinois, bringing me much joy (and a fair bit of rain as well.)  Flowers, both wild and domestic, are blooming, trees are budding, birds are Tweeting…or maybe tweeting.

The Weekly Photo Challenge theme this week is “Earth“, in celebration of Earth Day. My recent trip to Yosemite National Park with our older daughter showed us some unbelievable views of one glorious section of earth. I shared this photo on my blog during my posts about Yosemite, but it’s the perfect vehicle to convey the stunning beauty of one tiny area of earth, so I hope those of you who have already seen it will enjoy it again.

It may be easy to think that we need to preserve areas such as these, but in truth, every bit of earth has the potential to be beautiful, whether through scenery, use, or both.  Let us each find the corners we can preserve and improve and work towards those ends.

© janet m. webb 2017

Comments
  1. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Very wise words, dear Janet!
    Greetings from freezing cold, snowy Vienna 🙂

  2. Günaydın & 🐞

    Good morning & 🐞

    Guten Morgen & 🐞

    Bonjour & 🐞

    Buongiorno & 🐞

    ¡buenos días 🐞

  3. Awesome photo. I love all the different elements that can be seen.

  4. Dan Antion says:

    You are so right about every bit of earth having the potential to be beautiful. Thanks for that reminder, along with this beautiful photo, Janet.

  5. Oh this is so beautiful! Love your words of inspiration too.

  6. Sue says:

    What a glorious scene, Janet!

  7. bythebriny says:

    The swirl of cloud around the mountain really makes this photo. Just stunning!

  8. Great photo, Janet and I love the way the feathered highlight on the inside of the frame mimics the fog in the image.
    Ω

  9. Su Leslie says:

    Beautiful shot Janet. And I agree; we can find beauty all around, and should work towards maintaining as much as possible, not just focusing on a few places.

    • I think if we each tended whatever plot of earth we were around with thoughtfulness and integrity, the healing that would happen would be amazing. I’d love to see organic products be more available and affordable for things such as lawn care, etc. and more people take advantage of them. Just one example.

      • Su Leslie says:

        We are on the same page here Janet. We have some wonderful initiatives here to encourage and help people care for their own little patch in simple ways, yet the message is met so often with apathy.

  10. dawnkinster says:

    ooooh…I liked this. And it’s one of my favorite parks too. I’m going to link so that my readers can smile too.

  11. My initial reaction was “Whoa-ho!” and still is. What a great,dramatic shot. This is a winner. Randy

    All areas need protection, unfortunately, from ourselves and our politicians.

  12. Leya says:

    Gorgeous shot of a piece of our beautiful earth. Let us keep it that way

  13. Suzanne says:

    Wow. What a place. I must look for your post about the Park.

  14. Nice capture..perfect for the theme

  15. pattisj says:

    Wow, Janet! This is amazing!

  16. joey says:

    Pretty! Swirrrrrrl 🙂 That cloud is doing the most!

  17. Mother Hen says:

    This is gorgeous! And to think that I have not visited Yosemite.. Although have gotten close..

  18. madkatter13 says:

    This is breathtaking 🙏🏻♥️

  19. SoyBend says:

    Nice perspective on that shot!

  20. Janet, well articulated in image and text.

  21. Amy Marie says:

    So very true! Beautiful photo… thank you for sharing it (again)!!

  22. A great shot of Yosemite, Janet. There are so many vantage points that they never grow old and yours is a classic.

    • Thanks very much. I’m thinking of having this one made into a print and framing it. I agree that a person could go back there over and over and each time would be slightly different.

  23. Got Yosemite on my todo list! Beautiful shot.

  24. de Wets Wild says:

    Terrific photograph, Janet! You’ll win competitions with this one! And such a magnificent subject!

  25. eklastic says:

    This is gorgeous! The framing gives it that extra touch but even without it, it would have been excellent.
    PS: I don’t know what I did. I wanted to say thank you to your comment on my entry (picturesimperfect) and I got the answer that I had thrashed your comment. I can’t restore it so: Thank you, you are very kind.

    • I’ve accidentally put a comment in the trash before. If you go to the administration part of your blog and click on comments, up at the very top on the left you’ll find “all”, “pending”, etc. with “trash” at the far right. You can go in there and restore a comment. But don’t worry about it. Glad you enjoyed my shot and have a great day.

      janet

  26. Those clouds really make a great shot fantastic.

  27. […] Here, here and here are some pretty interesting interpretations of earth. Or you can go to the original link to see them all. So far. It’s early in the week, there will be more! […]

  28. susurrus says:

    This picture really does seem to have it all.

  29. Susi Lovell says:

    Wow! What a fantastic shot – the texture of the fallen tree is terrific. Well, it’s all terrific!

  30. yuhublogger says:

    Well said! The mist and the fallen tree.. There is beauty in everything. Lovely image!

  31. A gorgeous picture that evokes early morning as Nature is just beginning to come alive.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, that or the other thing.

